PDA

View Full Version : Region compatibility

brewer
September 19th, 2005, 11:26
Hi all,
I am thinking of purchasing a PSP and 1GB Memory stick from Thailand, along with several UMD's (games and movies).

My questions relate to compatibility.

I am in the UK, and wish to be sure that everything will work OK.

a) Will Stick work in a friends UK PSP?
b) Will UK games work in the Thai PSP?
c) Will UK movies work in the Thai PSP?
d) what about the power supply/charger?

Any other advice or wordcs of caution that I should be aware of?

Many thanks to all for any help provided - yes I am a newbie here so please be gentle!!

Cheers.
Mark

Plod
September 19th, 2005, 16:08
a) Will Stick work in a friends UK PSP?

Yes

b) Will UK games work in the Thai PSP?

Yes <sup>1</sup>

c) Will UK movies work in the Thai PSP?

No<sup>2</sup>

d) what about the power supply/charger?

Yes<sup>3</sup>

1. Games from any zone will work PSP's purchased from any other zone - however you will not be able to play multi-player games against games from different zones.

2. UMD movies have the same region locks as DVD movies do. So you will need to source movies from the region where you purchased your PSP

3. Check the power supply - mine states input voltage 100-240v 50/60Hz. If it says anything different, then it may go bang.

Hope this helps :)

Plod.

brewer
September 20th, 2005, 14:01
Much appreciated.

A few more questions if you dont mind;

Is there a hack to make it DVD multi-regional like virtually every dvd player out there?

What is the capacity on a UMD? Greater than 2GB (which I believe is the size of the largest memory stick)?

Could you use a pc hard disk to store games and then copy them to memory stick when you wanted to play on PSP?

Thanks.
Mark

Plod
September 21st, 2005, 12:52