PDA

View Full Version : noob here, need some help

8ballll
August 31st, 2008, 03:53
im lookin into buying a psp soon, and setting it up wiht some homebrew, how do i make sure i get the right one with the right firmware for it?

And what extra stuff do i need to get to set it all up?

thanks

darkriku2000
August 31st, 2008, 05:40
Ok, just so you know I don't have many links handy, so you'll have to look up some of the stuff I tell you.

Ok, here you go (Click on show):

1) PSP
Most people would recommend getting a 1000 series (fat) psp, which I agree with, they are more durable (except for the umd drive) and can run the 1.5 kernel which some homebrew needs to be able to run.

Sites to look at: http://dark-alex.org/index_psp.php

2) Firmware
If you want to run the newer games and the features from Sony's latest official firmware then go with the latest m33 firmware (with the 1.5 kernel if you listened to me about the fat psp)

If you only want to use your PSP for homebrew and psx games then I'd suggest 3.52 m33-4 for some of the best plugins + the ability to use sleep mode with homebrew

Sites to look at: http://dark-alex.org/index_psp.php http://alek.dark-alex.org/filez/psp_fw/

3) Things you'll need
Probably the most important thing you'll need is a pandora battery. There are 3 ways to get this:

1) Buy it (recommended way): You can buy these online for a pretty good price

2) Soft mod a battery (other recommended way): You can use a program to convert the battery into a pandora battery and back to a normal one, however, you need a psp with 1.5 or custom firmware to do so

3) Hard mod a battery (not recommended): If you open the fat psp's battery you can pull up a pin to make it a pandora battery. Be warned though this could damage your battery. I used this method since it was the only one I could use and ended up cutting my battery life in half