PDA

View Full Version : Does the Eloader "futureproof homebrew?

Vampyronight
February 5th, 2006, 22:12
Hey everyone, I was considering picking up GTA so I could secure homebrew when I buy a game that requires higher firmware (at 1.5 right now).

But, I have to wonder if this eloader will continue to work on future firmwares. My gut instincts tell me it will because I would think that any firmware update that altered the way you saved games would practically ruin any previous gamesaves. But I'm no coder, so I came to see if anyone had any insight on the manner.

For the record, I don't hate GTA or anything, but it wasn't especially high on my list of games to purchase since it's set in Liberty City. I'd probably enjoy it, but I'm not dieing to get it. But it's definately worth the price of admission if it secures homebrew usage for a long time.

shiftybill
February 6th, 2006, 04:56
im pretty sure it is running through a back door that rockstar left behind

so im pretty sure that your safe

Adz
February 7th, 2006, 01:49
i got gta today, not only to play the awesome game but like many, i got a V2.01 psp and the Eloader works perfect. as for ur unsettled thoughts about the survival of homebrew, i think i can say that you can rest assured that with people like Fanjita working to better homebrew for the next versions, then homebrew will live on.

im just hoping hes working on something to work without gta, a stand alone eboot for later Versions ;)

Vampyronight
February 7th, 2006, 02:40
A standalone would be ideal, but I'm not overally opposed to buying GTA for this. But I'm not sure if I'm willing to take the plunge if it's probable that Sony could patch this with a firmware update, ya know?

morg13
February 7th, 2006, 16:35
well i thing future hombrew will be created to work on 2.0+, curse ther are more 2.0+ than 1.5 users, and ther will be more....

hombrew on 1.5 isnīt the futur, so i think updating is ok

DraconumPB
February 7th, 2006, 18:25