PDA

View Full Version : Pc quake3 maps on DC ...



R4mb0
June 23rd, 2006, 21:42
Somebody already tried some time to put pc quake3maps in the dreamcast q3 ?
It is possible ?
I played a lot of cool q3 maps in my pc made by q3 fans!

Elven6
July 9th, 2006, 06:12
I don't think you can do it on a GD-ROM, but if you get those damn backups (boooo!) then probably!

kohan69
October 28th, 2006, 00:21
I'm having trouble with it.
I ported a few quake1 maps to quake1dc, but cant get quake3 mods/maps to work.

The consoles has like 1/2 the commands of the pc version.
It's rather frustrating

lo
October 29th, 2006, 07:00
I'm having trouble with it.
I ported a few quake1 maps to quake1dc, but cant get quake3 mods/maps to work.

The consoles has like 1/2 the commands of the pc version.
It's rather frustrating

There are enough commands for the dc version.

;raster 1
;map dc_map12

Should work for changing maps.
Other things can't explained here, because it would be against the rules, sorry.

Greetz
lo_

kohan69
October 31st, 2006, 01:00
There are enough commands for the dc version.

;raster 1
;map dc_map12

Should work for changing maps.
Other things can't explained here, because it would be against the rules, sorry.

Greetz
lo_


Why would modding be against the rules?? :confused:

Darksaviour69
October 31st, 2006, 09:15
yes moding commercial games are against the rules, in this forum

kohan69
November 2nd, 2006, 02:35
yes moding commercial games are against the rules, in this forum


Err.. -What? o.O

Did not see it in the forum rules, please link :)

What about non-commercial games, such as the Quake1 port?


Back on topic, there's a very interesting tree I found at wikipedia:

http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/9656/familytree11nc8.png

SSaxdude
November 2nd, 2006, 03:59
Just play the PC version, it's probably better anyways.

Darksaviour69
November 2nd, 2006, 09:56
when i said commercial games, i mean dreamcast commercial games, not ported games, so yes you can mod quake 1

oosername05
November 2nd, 2006, 21:19
I just had to say this... Quake III Arena in my opinion is the most fun game of all of the FPS games for Dreamcast. :)

R4mb0
November 5th, 2006, 10:55
lo
I want know if it possible add mods too ?
And if is possible play the maps online ?
Thx


Quake 3 insn┤t open source ?
The maps and mods are freeware ...

lo
November 6th, 2006, 15:57
Take a look at other dcemulation forum, maybe you find the answer there. ->Yes.

Quake III for dreamcast is no open source, sad but true.


Quake III is a great game and one of the last for dreamcast that is still online and will be online forever and playable via lan if you own a BbA.

Mods can (only?) be done via server.

Elven6
November 10th, 2006, 18:15
The source is already released for it, why not do something with that?

▀Řbonió $o˝ic
December 10th, 2006, 03:25
why are they saying you cant mod a comercial game if the source was released..? and how many ppl still play the PC version and what can be done to force the PC wservers to accept DC players?

Darksaviour69
December 11th, 2006, 09:34
the source was not released for the Dreamcast version

▀Řbonió $o˝ic
December 12th, 2006, 03:04
well.. at lowest u should be alowed to try to mode ur PCQ3 to better be compatiable w/out editing trhe DCQ3 but still examining it.

infurnull
January 19th, 2007, 16:42
Go ahead and read through the EULA for Quake3 game modifications are part of the license, read the EULA for the source code too. You are allowed to modify your own property privately. It even describes the process of burning a backup game disc of the original. :eek:

I need help finishing the modification process because it is almost complete :eek:

You need a broadband adapter to get the most out of this :eek:

The source code was already released for the game remember? It works pretty good for me :eek:

Face it! the real problem you had in modifying the game came down to BSP, or you would have done it already, you need a real game hacker to develop a special technique! :eek:

Altogether you still dont know what your getting into....it is quite complicated and no one thinks it is possible... :rofl:

There is absolutely NO homebrew project like this that takes the DC to the EDGE of performance backed by one of the greatest programmers in history :cool:

Take a chance on this and allow me to post my findings or at least link to another site- nothing has happened in the DC scene for a while and I think all of you that have been patiently waiting deserve something to see! :thumbup:

--Infurnull--

pssst! Want to see what is going on with me? Visit my blog!
http://blog.myspace.com/infurnull

infurnull
February 23rd, 2007, 15:53
Not a hoax.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GhP50ZoxKU

kohan69
February 25th, 2007, 08:36
Not a hoax.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GhP50ZoxKU

Looks more liek untextured that cell-shaded. cool effect though

-What's next? :)

infurnull
February 26th, 2007, 04:58
I'd like to get as many people involved as I can- I think that is the next step along with getting a TV capture card.