PDA

View Full Version : Burning \ Making SBI's

PS2Atari
November 20th, 2004, 00:21
Hello, I'm new to the DC Dev scene, as I've yet to create a project, how ever I have been programming games for windows.

I tried to folo this tut:
http://www.dcemu.co.uk/devcconfig.shtml

But I can't compile any of the example projects.

In the tutorial, it says to simply add the various BIN\LIB\CINCLUDE\C++INCLUDE directories, which I did at first, but after recieving hundres of compilation errors, I decided to remove the directories that were orginally there (which made sense) and now it compiles with out error BUT the progress bar gets to 100% and just sits there, it never finishes compiling, and dc-tool / make.exe just sit it ram.

what am I doing wrong?

EDIT: I installed Dev C++ on my laptop and now it compiles and makes the .elf file, tho it reports an "all-after" error, but it works otherwise.

HOWEVER...
I tried to use the .mak file that is shown in the example, but it errors saying:

"Seperator Missing ***; Stop"

or something similar to that, unless I comment out the sh-elf \ scramble \ dc-tool lines with "#"

Well I figured out that an sbi file is simply a zip file, like such:

DIR Inducer
DIR Inducer\Games:
BIN game.bin
DXL game.dxl
DIR Inducer\Images:
PNG game.png

I copied this formula, and zipped it, changing the file from ".zip" to ".sbi"

also, I edited the dxl file to make sure they all point to the correct paths...

my new question: what exactly do I use for the .bin file in the sbi?

I tried the bin file made from:

dc-tool -e -x $(BIN)
sh-elf-objcopy -O binary tunnel.elf tunnel.bin

also I tried the bin made from:

scramble tunnel.bin tunnel2.bin
(I renammed tunnel2.bin to tunnel.bin later on before adding to my sbi)

anyway, after buring both sbis, once im in the shell on the dreamcast, when either are launched, the Dreamcast just resets. I assume I'm using the wrong .bin file.. if not, I would appreciate any help as to why its not working.

thanks