PDA

View Full Version : Is this worth buying or bidding for? Pentium D 930 and ESC motherboard.

MrTeressaBond
July 4th, 2006, 02:04
Is this worth buying or bidding for?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=015&item=250002159651&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1

the specsof the motherboard are exceptional! and the CPU tends to be my favoutite as i choose this one in particular because it is 95W and at a decent clockspeed.

and for those who still think its a no no for the CPU, check this site out:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/pentium-d-920-930_3.html

from their on, thats what i intend to do, even though i am very new to it.

thus, i am planning to use a faster fan cooler, if i am correct, the faster the fan is, the cooler the CPU will, making it run faster? or something like that? that was my theory, but can anyone tell me if this is a yes yes or a no no.

thanks very much, i will greatly appreciate it.

matthewmcg
July 6th, 2006, 13:17
avoid intel at all costs, ignore the clock speeds the performance is aweful. wither your on a tight budget or youve got a big amount AMD is always the best. with amd cpus and amd motherboards now you really do get great value. for example if you were to buy the cheapest 939 board. it still has all your favourite technologies and much more. a socket 939 AMD athlon 64 3000 is single core, high performance and can be clocked from 2.0 to 2.8-3.0 with decent cooling

matthewmcg
July 6th, 2006, 13:19
i also advise you do some homework on computers before posting on a dreamcast forum

semicolo
July 8th, 2006, 13:31
well the latests intel core duo beat athlons, don't believe those saying "intel is crap" search for reviews of the hardware you intend to buy.

RedKing14CA
July 8th, 2006, 15:29
for a 2.66 GHz Pentium D 805 it is 120$, and can be easily OC'd to 3.5GHz and with good cooling can be overclocked to 4GHz!!!

and it's dual cored...