PDA

View Full Version : A Question..

Kytavia
January 13th, 2010, 21:28
Okay, im still pretty new at this so im sorry if most of this sounds dumb but i'd appriciate your help on this.

I have a psp 2003, im pretty sure it's hackable due to the date being 7D & firmware version being 3.93 (please correct me if im wrong)

Okay the question is, I want to play Final Fantasy Dissidia, but i'd also like to put custom firmware on my psp. In order to play FFD it says i need to upgrade to firmware 5.55

So can i upgrade and play, or should i just wait and buy a pandora battery. And even if i get custom firmware will i still be able to play FFD? - or any other game of that matter which needs updating (a.k.a littlebigplanet)

Thank you.

FNQer
January 13th, 2010, 23:24
i would nail down exactly which motherboard version you own first, before doing anything with cfw.

you got the date code - so that is one way of finding out the m/b version.

the ofw being 3.93 is certainly promising.

different motherboards have different implications for running homebrew on a cfw. hacking the ta-088v3 motherboard (slim psp model) differs from hacking other slim models. some newer models (most newer brites and those later slim models) present more complications to running cfw than say the phat. all phats regardless of its ofw is hackable - that is an unique feature of the phats over all other psp models. most slims (generally) are hackable, as long as its ofw is equal or lower than ofw 5.03. most brites are troublesome in running full cfw...

i haven't played ffd on my phat/slim (both with cfw 5.00m33-6) but I have Little Big Planet. I haven't played much of it - but it works fine with my cfw...

the game itself and sony might strongly suggest that you require a ofw update to play - but can't you just play it anyway, without upgrading? just ignore that message.