PDA

View Full Version : freedo

gymguy24
November 1st, 2004, 00:31
First off ive been a big fan of the site i check it once a day for news and the forums and i think its great whats being done to and for the dc these days. Just wandering if it would be possible to port the 3do emu freedo to the dc that would be great for the dc scene.im not sure if it could be done but that is because im not sure of the specs needed to run it on a pc and i am in no way a coder unless alittle q-basic counts these days( lol) well thats my 2 cents thank for the input guys.

phipscube
November 1st, 2004, 03:46
Funny you mention that... Im no coder, but would love to see FreeDo on DC as well. *Just recently version 1.7 WIP beta has been released on PC.. but more interestingly, Felix (admin) one of the main guys behind FreeDo has mentioned on the boards that DC is very capable of emulating 3DO!!

Quote from him: -

Re: Freedo for Dreamcast?
« Reply #17 on: September 21st, 2004, 10:40pm » * *

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"guys, just to stop this flame. Freedo can run on DreamCast with full speed. Dreamcast and 3do has more similarities than PC and 3do -- in PC CPU is important part and emulates virtually everything. BUT!!! in dream cast -- CPU can emulate ARM very fast, DSP can emulate DSP of 3do very fast too, and what's important -- w/o resources of CPU. Also PVR2 is probably the only 3d processor which can virtually be used as CEL engine.

BUT!!! All this with ONE condition -- somebody need to code all this."

VERY interesting indeed!! *:)

Darksaviour69
November 1st, 2004, 03:57
Felix was also working on icarus (the DC emu) so he would know his stuff about the DC.

it might be possable, but it i would say it would be very hard!

wraggster
November 1st, 2004, 13:48
I had a 3d0 on day 1 in the UK and it would be awesome to see it arrive on the Dreamcast :)

tinku
November 1st, 2004, 15:27