PDA

View Full Version : Is there any way to play Nintendo 64 games on the DS?

Sir Spiffy
August 7th, 2006, 02:42
Any emulators or convertors that will let me play Nintendo64 games if I have a Max Media Player, that anyone knows about?

I would love to get Banjo-Kazooie on my DS...

Quay Cur
August 7th, 2006, 02:53
This question pops up every once in a while, and sadly, the answer is no. In order to properly emulate the N64 the DS would need to be more powerful than it, which it isn't. The only possibility I have thought of is to have a program that could patch and convert the N64 roms and somehow downsize everything so it's only outputting graphics for a DS-sized screen and not a TV, but I doubt that's even possible. Though I have no programming knowledge, so maybe it is.

Banjo-Kazooie was a fantastic game.

Sir Spiffy
August 7th, 2006, 03:00
hm........... i thought it was just as powerful as the 64. it had all them extras with mario64 and the graphics for mario kart are much better.

i thought the ds was equal to the n64.

NoQuarter
August 7th, 2006, 03:04
The thing is for hardware to emulate another system it generally has to be 5 times as powerful.

Quay Cur
August 7th, 2006, 03:08
Those game were designed just for DS. You also have to take in to account that the devs who made those have a lot more experience now working in 3D and making things look good without putting a load on the processor. The graphics in FFIII put pretty much everything on N64 to shame.

Quay Cur
August 7th, 2006, 03:09
The thing is for hardware to emulate another system it generally has to be 5 times as powerful.
Exactly, that's partially why we have problems doing SNES emulation, too.

Sir Spiffy
August 7th, 2006, 03:13
wow i never realized that it took that much power.

we need to send nintendo a petition featuring a list of all the great remakes we want! if they want to flood the market with all these remakes, they need to do the BEST games!