PDA

View Full Version : Is this legit? And will I have any problems?

hypochondriac
January 14th, 2007, 22:12
Apologies in advance as I am a complete noob. I live in the UK and have recently purchased a PSP from the US off ebay. Firstly will there be any issues I would encounter considering it will be a US PSP. I deliberately chose it as it will be Homebrew compatable. Also does the deal look legit as it seems rather cheap to me! Are they the 2nd version nyko speakers as well? Are there any other accessories you suggest that I buy? Sorry for all the questions but any answers to them would be much appreciated!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&sspagename=ADME%3AB%3ARTQ%3AUK%3A1&viewitem=&item=130066089756&rd=1

BelmontSlayer
January 14th, 2007, 23:48
It seems like a perfectly legit PSP. You will need to buy a voltage adapter. If I recall correctly, USA uses 115V & the UK uses 230V. You should be able to buy an adapter for cheap from a hardware store. Also, you should buy a memory stick. The PSP stores all of its files on an external Memory Stick Pro DUO. I would recommend a 512MB if you only plan on playing homebrew & UMD games.

Also, how do you know its homebrew compatible? Did you email the seller? Any PSP with 2.80 or lower can be downgraded to 1.50 (The best firmware for homebrew).

Lodis
January 15th, 2007, 02:42
You say you think the deal is cheap, that is most likely due to the Psp being used as opposed to new. If that is a USA Psp, the screen might be of a slightly lower quality than the Japanese Psp's, I noticed this a long time ago.

Also the delivery method says ''USPS Airmail Letter Post'' which is not ideal, very slow, uninsured and insecure when compared to some other services. I only use this method for items im not too worried about.

I can't help thinking that you should have asked all of these questions before you made this purchase.