PDA

View Full Version : Wifi problems with homebrew

rikseaside
March 31st, 2007, 16:21
Sorry to make my first post a noob plea for help, but I'm hoping some bright sparks can sort out my wifi woes.

I have a DS Lite and an R4 (with kernel 1.07), which works a treat when playing *cough* downloaded WFC games (e.g. Tetris) over the internet via my Netgear DG834GT router. However I can't connect to the internet using the web browser in DS Organize, or connect to my PC using Win2DS or DSVNC.

I've set up a wireless network at home and I use VNC every day at work (on an IT helpesk) so I'm not a novice at this sort of thing, oh and I know about DLDI patching as well. Either I'm missing something subtle (or blindingly obvious) or my DS is sulking for some reason. I've checked all the settings I can find, entered the various ip addresses, opened port 8888 on my router for Win2DS, tried switching off WEP and generally sworn a lot but still no joy.

The DSOrganize browser says "Associating..." then fails. As there are no settings within the program as far as I can tell, I presume it uses the WFC settings which I know work, so how come this doesn't? Strangely, I can't find any mention of the browser on dragonminded.com - is it actually real?

DSVNC says "Unable to join a wifi network" and it specifically says that it uses the WFC settings. I've tried versions 3.3 and 4.1.2 of VNC server on my PC.

Win2DS sometimes says it can't connect at all, and sometimes find my network, asks for the PC's ip address and password then sits on "Connection Status: Waiting..." until I get bored and switch it off several minutes later.

Reading the comments pages for these programs, I can tell I'm not the only one having trouble. If anyone feels up to posting an idiot's guide it would be greatly appreciated!

DanTheManMS
March 31st, 2007, 22:00