PDA

View Full Version : Dumb question: How do you play UMDS without updating your system? 1.50 user.

danondorf
May 2nd, 2007, 09:08
I am fairly new to the PSP homebrew scene and I sucessfully installed emulators for NES, SNES, Genesis and GBA. I am a 1.50 user; how does one go about playing UMDS without updating their system?

I want to buy Metal Gear Portable Ops and Tekken DR but I am afraid I may accidently update my system without meaning to.

Any suggestions? Sorry for the lame question, as I said I am still completely new to this (2 days now and loving this system).

Thanks in advance ;)

-Xandu-
May 2nd, 2007, 09:13
You could update to the latest Open Edition firmware 3.40 OE. It has homebrew and firmware functions in one ;).

danondorf
May 2nd, 2007, 09:15
Is that necessarily safe? Any risk involved? Could you please tell me how or where I get this or info on it?

Thanks

-Xandu-
May 2nd, 2007, 09:21
Here is a step by step guide for installing 3.40 OE-A. Please note that you must be running 1.50, or any of the OE series firmware to begin this installation.

First grab the 3.40 OE-A files. (http://exophase.com/files/psp/340_oea.rar)

1. Copy oeupdmaker and oeupdmaker% to X:/PSP/GAME if you are in 1.50, or to X:/PSP/GAME150 if you are running OE.

2. Now download the 1.50 and 3.40 updates which you can grab below:
1.50 Update (http://72.29.74.204/~exophase/external/150.PBP)
3.40 Update (http://du01.psp.update.playstation.org/update/psp/image/us/2007_0419_58101e3f6e897725ac55ec1ae3dc07a0/EBOOT.PBP)

3. Place these 2 updates in the oeupdmaker folder and ensure they are named exactly like this 150.PBP and 340.PBP. Now navigate to the game menu on your PSP and execute the update maker. It will take a few minutes to create the file, once finished a DATA.DXAR will be found in the oeupdmaker folder.