PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Controllers?

curt_grymala
May 24th, 2005, 15:11
Has anyone ever looked into creating their own wireless controllers out of the official Sega controllers? I think it would be really cool to be able to modify some of my official Sega controllers to work as wireless (basically, remove the cord, install an infrared device in the controller, and then install an infrared receiver in the plug that I cut off of the controller).

Anyone have any advice, or information on this idea?

ptr.exe
May 24th, 2005, 17:05
I was thinking about this the other day, although i have no technical knowledge of this sort of hardware. My main thought was space - there simply is none in the DC controller, there is a very small amount of space just above the start button where a circuit could be mounted inside but it would have to be small.

This would be a very cool mod, anyone know how it could be possibly done?

curt_grymala
May 25th, 2005, 12:35
I was thinking about this the other day, although i have no technical knowledge of this sort of hardware. My main thought was space - there simply is none in the DC controller, there is a very small amount of space just above the start button where a circuit could be mounted inside but it would have to be small.

This would be a very cool mod, anyone know how it could be possibly done?

I was thinking a little more about this. Would it be possible, maybe, to modify one of the mem card slots to accept a transmitter?

Maybe we could even work up a mod where we take the guts out of a VMU, and replace them with some sort of IR transmitter? The little area where a lanyard can be attached to the VMU would be a perfect place to drill a hole for the IR diode (or LED, or whatever it is). By doing something like that, we could even possibly leave the cord intact, in case we felt like plugging the controller in for some reason (assuming we have extra cords, from which we can harvest the plugs).