PDA

View Full Version : DC Hardware problem - please help!

slak
May 27th, 2005, 00:16
Hello there folks!

I'm a newbie to this forum (well, to posting on it anyway :rolleyes: ) but I was wondering if anyone could give me a hand.

I've had my current DC for a few months now (my old one as sold a couple of years ago - I regretted it and now have another :D ) and had been running fine until about a week ago. Suddenly, usually upon it's first boot for a few hours, it restarted itself a few minutes into playing a game, and sometimes even did it twice, but then carried on as normal. Before this all games had played fine.

Now, about a week on, it's unusable. I can't play any game, it wont go more than a minute without rebooting, and as of the time of posting, it wont boot at all. It doesn't "reboot" as such, the screen flashes white and then stays black for a few seconds, flashes again, and then reboots, for a few seconds, and then the flashing starts again etc. It's very bizzare! I've just turned it on, and all I have is a black screen, with or without a disc :-( I've tried different discs, VMU no VMU, a different power lead. I thought it may have been the fan after reading other posts but it sounds like it's running fine and when placing my hand next to it, you can feel the air blowing out.

Could it be a problem with the power board? It can't be the laser if it wont start up at all, even without a disc in. Any help would be VERY much appreciated, as at the moment I'm completely bewildered.

I may be able to try and post an mpeg video of what happens if it would help anyone (might have to wait 'till the weekend so I can access the right PC for the job though :-P) Thanks again!

Saoshyant
May 27th, 2005, 00:36
I have heard of a similar problem before. A friend (RX, never more saw him :/ ) showed me these pics on what you are supposed to fix. I suppose it can work here in this case too.

http://www.geocities.com/ice_darkrose/stuff/dc-fix1.jpg