PDA

View Full Version : Getting started on homebrew, what do you recommend (original style DS)

cha0ticbliss
June 1st, 2007, 04:41
*sigh* I'm new to the DS scene. Bought my DS early on and due to lack of cash and games I stopped playing.

Afterwards I got a psp, got into homebrew with that and such. The audio port broke and now im awaiting a repair part. So, I found out how big the DS homebrew scene is and figured I might as well try it out.

I have a FW 1 DS (original)

I would like 1 GB storage
Good compatability
And well what set-up is considered the "best" (without spending too much) and i dont care if i have to flash or w/e

edit: my one friend who is also starting out it getting this for his DS Lite, however I have an original so I'm not sure if there are any cheaper or better methods out there... http://www.modchipstore.com/M3-DS-Simply-Slot-1-solution-homebrew-backups-microsd-16419.html

sry to ask a noob question but i am pretty lost with all the different methods and such..

DanTheManMS
June 1st, 2007, 04:48
A slot-1 device would probably be the easiest solution for you. For this, the M3 Simply and a microSD could would work. Other popular options are the R4 and Supercard DS, both of which would suit your needs just as well.

ZeakStarwind
June 1st, 2007, 06:39
I know a great place to get you started on the homebrew scene for the NDS as I know a lot for PSP and NDS. I'd suggest getting a Super Card SD as slot 2 since they're actually better in my opinion and cheaper, but if you have enough cash you could get a M3 Adapter CF at Divineo. M3 is expensive and has more compatibility, but Super Card SD is the way to go for cheapness. If you need any other assistance, message me online.

drraagh
June 7th, 2007, 06:31
I have been digging through various sites reading about the differences between Slot 1 and Slot 2 devices and which is best for what I may want to do (since I'm still just getting started in DS homebrew as well).