PDA

View Full Version : PS1 Emulator on PSP

Stigmatized
June 10th, 2007, 02:18
Hi there guys and girls.

Okay basically I have my PSP as version 1.5, and I've installed PSX-P Alpha 2 as an emulator for, what I'm guessing, PS1 games.

I've put Parapa the Rapper, and FF7 (disc 1) onto the emulator on my PSP, done all of the steps, and when I load the programme on my PSP it all works fine, then it allows me to choose the game I want, when I press X, the screen goes black, then does nothing.

Is it because these games aren't supported yet?

How do so many people manage to play games theyve downloaded from the internet on their PSP?

Am I doing something wrong with this emulator.

Any help would be appreciated, please be honest, and very obvious as I'm very new to all of this!

Thank you

dylandangles
June 10th, 2007, 02:25
That emulator is outdated and slow.

My advice is for you to upgrade to 3.XX OE. It can play Ps1 games that are in eboot form straight from the XMB and it's full speed.

Stigmatized
June 10th, 2007, 02:39
Basically I downloaded FF7 for PSP and it created 3 folders, each one with an EBOOT.pbp file in.

Do you have any information that may help me upgrade to 3.xx OE? And sorry to sound like a complete noob, what is XMB and how do I get it?

Sorry!

dylandangles
June 10th, 2007, 03:02
The games you downloaded were made to run on OE firmwares since they are in eboot form.
I can't help you install the games or get them working but I can help you install 3.40OE.

And XMB is the main menu of the psp. Where you launch homebrew from.

What you will need to do is upgrade to 3.40 OE-A custom firmware. Don't worry, it's very safe. There is a small chance could brick though since it writes to the flash so don't hold me accountable if anything goes wrong. But hey, I've done this numerous times without any problems. Nothing will go wrong as long as you follow the instrustions in the readme.

Heres what you will need: