PDA

View Full Version : Playstation 1 to PSP conversion (Tutorial)



lonrot
June 20th, 2007, 03:09
With PSX2PSP (http://consolemaniak.com/index.php?action=tpmod;dl=item50) you will be able to play your own PSX backups into your PSP with a few simple steps.

1) Get a Playstation image file in .bin format (not iso). In my case I will use my Chrono Cross Disc 1 to exemplify the process. I used UltraISO to get the CD Image.

http://img470.imageshack.us/img470/6616/comobinwq3.png

2) Browse in the PSX2PSP Folder and select Classic Mode Shortcut. You can choose one of the others but I find myself comfortable using this method.

http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/3536/classicur0.png

3) A window will open, here you must fill the necessary boxes to convert your image.
First BOX: Browse for the Image File, in my case: CHRONOCROSS.bin
Second BOX: select in which folder the converted file will be placed:
In my case I chose Desktop.

http://img470.imageshack.us/img470/835/29699322sm8.png

Now the other boxes will be filled automatically, if you want to add a background picture and an Icon feel free to put whatever you want, if you do so click on Preview, it will allow you to see how the pictures will fit.

http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/6995/51328998hu3.png

4) Next click on Convert, wait a few moments while the image is being converted. After that Browse for the Game Folder located on the destination you have chosen, in my case I will find it on the Desktop. Move that Folder into your PSP's Memory Stick, the destination will be:
:\PSP\GAME

http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/6717/92309654kg1.png

You can always change the name of the game folder into something more symbolic, for example Chrono Cross Disc 1. If you are lazzy just leave it as it is.

5) Now turn on your PSP, and select Game > Memory Stick, if everything went okay you will be able to boot the game and play from now on.

http://img386.imageshack.us/img386/5583/screen26ze1.png


IF YOU GOT PROBLEMS:
Your Custom Firmware must be 3.03 and up.

1) In some cases there are compatibility issues with the emulator, and to fix that you will have to get an external plugin: POPS LOADER (http://exophase.com/files/psp/pops302load.rar)
To enable this plugin you must: create "seplugins" folder in the root of your PSP, and extract the files there.

http://img386.imageshack.us/img386/4126/popspluginar0.png
After that you have to turn on your PSP and hold the Right Trigger button until a blue screen appears. From there, select Plugins and enable the popsloader.prx.

2) Sometimes NO-UMD may prevent PSX Games from running, so you do better disable if you have issues: Right Trigger when booting the PSP, select Configuration and disable NO-UMD

Credit goes to: www.consolemaniak.com

parkermauney
June 20th, 2007, 04:14
Great guide, many people have trouble with ripping the images alone.

skater9269
June 20th, 2007, 04:23
Thanks for the guide, good use of screencap

ultradodger
June 20th, 2007, 04:49
Excellent guide. Is there any way to change the video settings to make the PS1 emulator take up the whole screen? Thanks!

parkermauney
June 20th, 2007, 05:25
The settings option from the home menu.

Triv1um
June 20th, 2007, 08:22
Great guide, better than mine =)

Thekinglotr
June 20th, 2007, 17:31
So I tried this last night and all I get after following all of the steps is a black screen after I enter the game? It shows a screen that talks about ps1->psp then it just goes black. What am I doing wrong?

parkermauney
June 20th, 2007, 18:34
Make sure you don't have a custom opening_plugin.rco

Thekinglotr
June 21st, 2007, 03:51
Ok I have no idea what that is...

parkermauney
June 21st, 2007, 04:00
Do you have a custom xmb?

Thekinglotr
June 21st, 2007, 04:06
yes, 3.03 oe c

parkermauney
June 21st, 2007, 04:13
OK, replace the file, "opening_plugin.rco" with your backup.

Thekinglotr
June 21st, 2007, 04:22
I dont think I have a backup of that? is that included with the regular oec? I never put a plugin on besides the one it says to in the guide

parkermauney
June 21st, 2007, 04:38
You just said you had a custom xmb, that's not the same thing as custom firmware.

Flatland
June 21st, 2007, 05:19
opening_plugin.rco for 3.03 OE-C ?

i have a back up for it... :)

PSP BLACK (JAPAN)
PSP CAMERA
VERSION: 3.03 OE-C
4GB SONY MEMORY STICK HIGH SPEED

http://www.myspace.com/denver_flatlander

add me up! my email add: denver_flatlander@hotmail.com

Thank's!

parkermauney
June 21st, 2007, 05:29
Your's won't work because it's japanese. And I'm pretty sure that's not what the problem is.

And whoever's psp that is, they must be a hardass gamer! They sit at the xmb running a process using both wi-fi and the memstick, while the hold switch is turned on! Sounds like a long term commitment.

Thekinglotr
June 21st, 2007, 17:28
oh ok, yeah I thought you said firmware. yeah I dont have a custom xmb. I am still kind of a newbie at this sorry.

parkermauney
June 21st, 2007, 17:46
It's alright, we're all noobs at sometime. Do you have a umd in? Is your kernel set to 3.03?

Thekinglotr
June 21st, 2007, 18:43
yes i have tried with and without umd, no luck, in the recovery menu it says it is in 3.03 kernal, but can be switched to 1.5

LilSwish722
June 21st, 2007, 21:54
I followed this tutorial and used the links provided and it worked perfectly. I converted my FFVIII Disc 1 and it took like...10 minutes from Disc to PSP

parkermauney
June 21st, 2007, 22:36
@TheKinglotr

Try it with No-UMD disabled.

Thekinglotr
June 23rd, 2007, 06:23
yeah I did, no luck, I am trying to run castlevania sotn, could that be a problem?

PSPFR3AK
June 24th, 2007, 19:12
I get this error :

"To use this content , you must activate the system."

Why?

PSPFR3AK
June 26th, 2007, 17:08
bawmp

HumanIce
June 26th, 2007, 20:49
no, thats no good guide.. this is old, please newbies, use PSX2PSP newest version, that is the best..

foxmc
June 27th, 2007, 12:31
doesnt matter

scarletgenesis
June 28th, 2007, 00:43
Hi, im also kinda new to this, i have custom firmware 3.30 and i converted the tomb raider to and eboot and i used the pops loader here http://www.playstation-scene.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&printertopic=1&t=2456&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&vote=viewresult
im not sure wat xmb but my no-umd is disabled and i still cant get it to work properly
iaf anyone could help that would be cool thx

Kasz
July 4th, 2007, 02:45
I didn't get as far as most people. I told psx2psp to select the file (sukoiden.bin), gave it an output location, gave it a background. Fine. I clicked on Convert, and it gives me a message saying [Unable to open "C:\Documents and Settings \ Admin\Desktop\12982_PSX2PSP_popstation_GUI_1.2\Fil es\BASE.PBP". ]
What's that all about? Other forums tell me I need to have hotshotsgolf data in there (no, I won't ask for it). I thought that was for older versions...?

darkriku2000
July 4th, 2007, 05:13
do you need an emulator for this, which one should i use?

reyman
July 4th, 2007, 14:27
I figure i'd ask this here instead of starting a new topic.

Where does my psp save my psx game saves?

I just bought Rayman on ebay to convert for my psp (3.00 all in, bargain) but i wont have room on my stick for my colin mcrae 2.0 eboot but i dont wanna loose my save game.

Any takers?

capital p
July 5th, 2007, 02:42
Any suggestions for MGS?

I see from many people it's compatible, but it freezes on me everytime during the Cutscene in the beginning when Snake asks about the Hind-D....I have tried .iso, .img and .bin formats and it freezes at the same spot each time...

I am running 3.40-OE A, and I have got Final Fantasy Origins and Tecmo Superbowl to run....any ideas?

jack276
July 5th, 2007, 11:45
I am having trouble with this, my game starts but it wont get past the opening movie/title sequence. I have tried using different programs and i have used the plugin you reccomended but that makes it worse. I am using custom firmware 3.40 oe a.

capital p
July 7th, 2007, 04:15
n/m to my question....I got it to work finally...

ThunderCat
January 25th, 2009, 17:15
im useing a psp 3000 silver
but when i try to play a game i put on my psp from psx2psp it keeps saying that "the copyright protection information is invalid"
also i dont know how to install a custom firmware.
any ideas?

JLF65
January 26th, 2009, 09:27
im useing a psp 3000 silver
but when i try to play a game i put on my psp from psx2psp it keeps saying that "the copyright protection information is invalid"
also i dont know how to install a custom firmware.
any ideas?

The PSX EBOOT create by popstation (and all derivatives) requires custom firmware... and cfw isn't available for the 3000 yet.

ThunderCat
January 27th, 2009, 23:48
thanks........................ i guess
:(

ThunderCat
January 30th, 2009, 20:38
any idea when a psp firmware for the 3000 will come out?

mikeytje
February 1st, 2009, 13:29
any idea when a psp firmware for the 3000 will come out?

A what?

aa_rox
February 1st, 2009, 13:34
@ThunderCat
We dont know but there might be an exploit on the way so what ever you do do not upgrade to 5.03 and above(when its out)

ThunderCat
February 2nd, 2009, 01:59
to late :(