PDA

View Full Version : Brand new to this, need help. Loads of questions.

Falseblue
June 21st, 2007, 19:11
I am brand new to the homebrew and emulating scene on the DS. So, I am asking for some help.

1) I need to be able to get the devices for Emulating in a BEst Buy or Circuit City.

So, which would be the best value for emulating;
Max Media Dock/Launcher/Player ( I do not nknow the difference) or the Games N Music?

2) How hard is it to enable or install the programs on the devices?

3) What exactly does DLDI do?

I think that is all.

DanTheManMS
June 21st, 2007, 19:43
While the Datel products are the only ones available offline, they are also among the worst homebrew devices available. If you absolutely must go with them however, get a Max Media Dock (the one where you supply your own CF card). The GnM does not have a DLDI file made for it at the moment, making it utterly useless for a large percentage of homebrew.

Again though, I'd highly recommend looking at the devices you can buy online.

Installing programs is as simple as plugging the media card into a card reader and copying files to it.

DLDI is basically a dynamic "filesystem access code" thing. Developers reserve a 32 kb segment in the program for filesystem access code, and you patch in the code for your specific device. This allows for the same homebrew program to run on any device that has DLDI support. As the GnM has no DLDI file, only homebrew that does not access the filesystem will work with it.

Falseblue
June 21st, 2007, 22:32
SO, Most likely I will be getting the Media dock. I see several variations of this from Datel. WHich do I need? The one with the Game Card that has the NoPass feature? Or just the dock that goes into slot 2?
Since SD cards are going down in price, that will be my best bet.

Now, my question is now, is there a NES, GB, and possibly a SNES emulator that can run on it?

Thanks for your help so far :thumbup: