PDA

View Full Version : Questions about psp custom fw

BC Bwoy
June 30th, 2007, 00:28
First off, if anyone has posted a thread about this before, I'm sorry for the repeat, I just didn't feel like looking through all the pages of topics and checking out the ones with nondescript titles. Sue me. ;) Anyways, I have some questions for anyone who knows the answers about psp custom fws. I am currently running on 3.40.

1. Is it possible to switch to custom fw from 3.40? I am a noob when it comes to coding, so if this can be done, please use layman's terms. :confused:
2. What does the custom fw (the ones designed by dark_alex, as those seem to be the ones everyone says are the best.) have that the sony fw doesn't?
3. Can it run any homebrews or just certain ones?
4. Can the custom fw be switched back to the sony fw if necessary?
5. Does the custom fw run all psp games normally?
6. Do I run a risk of bricking my psp if I want to install custom fw?
7. If I need to downgrade to get custom fw, can I do so without bricking?

That's it for now, I know, noob questions, but I'd really appreciate it if anyone can answer them. :)

Nicko01
June 30th, 2007, 02:49
1. Yes, if you have Lumines.
2. It can run homebrew, be customized, play your own PSX games...
3. All homebrew that I know of works on them.
4. Yes, but it isn't necessary.
5. Yes, it can even use special cheat devices or speed up the game, and you can download official games for free (this is illegal, so you cant talk about that here)
6. You do, but it is very small, and highly unlikely if you do it right.
7. Again, the chances of bricking are small.

If you would brick your PSP, all you need to do is get a modchip like Undiluted Platinum or Devolution installed which will unbrick it. These are pretty cheap to get now.

PM me if you have more questions.

Safari Al
June 30th, 2007, 05:03