PDA

View Full Version : PSP Slim Emulation Questions? Should I get Slim or Normal?

KL316
September 15th, 2007, 02:26
Ok gentleman...perhaps I am a total noob, but I was previously considering getting a GP2X.

However, since there is no physical location nearby (Hong Kong) that i can find to actually buy and pick up the GP2X in person, I am thinking of getting a PSP-Slim tomorrow. (if anybody knows where in hong kong I can actually pick up a GP2X in person, please let me know)

I was wondering if it would be a good idea for me to get the PSP-Slim or a normal PSP?

Do emulators already work for the PSP-Slim or are people still trying to crack the firmware?

How well does NeoGeo, Snes, and Mame work on the PSP?

Sorry for the noob questions guys. OTL

DarthPaul
September 15th, 2007, 06:21
You should grab a Normal one.

All emulators work perfectly on the normal one already,except N64. Everything else is neat,including PS1.

Not PS2/Xbox/Gamecube/PS3/360/Wii/DS of course.

Welshboy
September 15th, 2007, 14:59
Why get a normal one? providing he knows someone with access to a homebrew capable phat PSP he could use Pandora?

KL316
September 15th, 2007, 15:10
hm..... sounds interesting....can you explain to me how pandora works? whats phat psp?

jak66
September 15th, 2007, 16:57
phat PSP is the new 'nickname' for normal PSPs (like normal DSs got called DS phat when DS lite was released)

Pandoras Battery (along with a 'Magic Memory stick') is a universal phat PSP unbricker/downgrader.It works by booting the PSP into service mode which loads the ipl from a partition on memory stick and also firmware files from the memory stick. Team M33 used a moddified 'MMS' to install custom firmware on a slim PSP

NoQuarter
September 15th, 2007, 17:23
get the phat if you want to use all of the homebrew,a slim if your patient and don't mind waiting for full compatibility.Besides the slim doesn't have IR.
Personally I'd get the phat.

Welshboy
September 15th, 2007, 17:55