PDA

View Full Version : External harddrive broken need help !!

Man
September 17th, 2007, 11:40
Ok so i bought a brand spanking new 500GB external harddrive, and iv had it for about a week, and i notice one day that it is lying on the floor by my moms computer, and my dad had knocked it off and the firewire port at the back was bent in, and now it wont work, what i was wondering is if i could just buy another external harddrive enclosure and pop the old external drive into it, like take the harddrive out and put it in a new enclosure ?

alexvander
September 17th, 2007, 12:40
im no computer expert but u should be able to i dont see why that wouldnt work

quzar
September 17th, 2007, 14:18
It should work fine. Just make sure you know what interface the drive uses before buying the enclosure.

souLLy
September 17th, 2007, 14:46
as long as the drive itself isn't damaged, yeah

cal360
September 17th, 2007, 15:26
It should work as long as the driive itself isn't damaged badly.

VampDude
September 17th, 2007, 18:30
It should be ok after changing the cases, it's quite easy to do so too :)

Lycan_Ste
September 17th, 2007, 18:37
If its only a week old take it back? I have had mine ages and mine is fooked =(

VampDude
September 17th, 2007, 19:06
I have had mine ages and mine is fooked =(

Why is your Ext.HD f∞ked?

I've got 3 in total (2x 250GB + 1x 80GB), and none of which are f∞ked :cool:

---
Off Topic
---

lol @ the (unusual) word f∞ked :rofl: f∞k f∞k f∞kety f∞k! lmao :D

Lycan_Ste
September 17th, 2007, 19:11
Why is your Ext.HD f∞ked?

I've got 3 in total (2x 250GB + 1x 80GB), and none of which are f∞ked :cool:

---
Off Topic
---

lol @ the (unusual) word f∞ked :rofl: f∞k f∞k f∞kety f∞k! lmao :D

Well it keeps restarting itself but only on my laptop, doesn't do it on my ps3 for some reason, i have had new power leads sent to me aswell and it still does it, i have also formatted my laptop and this does jack. F00ker!

Buddy4point0
September 17th, 2007, 20:49