PDA

View Full Version : DS Emulation for Beginners (UK)

JonnyJP
September 30th, 2007, 14:52
Hi, I live in the UK and have a DS Lite, Broadband Internet and a PC.

Basically, what do I need to be able to play emulators on my DS? Ideally, I'd like a step by step guide or something that includes info on UK suppliers and approximate costs. Ideally, if there is a package that contains everything I'll need then that would be great.

I'm new to this so using a lot of technical terms won't help.

Cheers guys.

PS I'm interested in emulating the C16, C64, Speccy, Megadrive and PC games like Monkey Island.

OPM881
September 30th, 2007, 15:19
your gonna need a slot card first(a card that looks identical to a normal ds game cartridge, but has a slot for a micro sd card). I recomend R4 or M3 because they seem to be the best in the market. There are heaps of stores if you look around, i live in australia so the store i used wont help, but try and get one that will sell you a japanese imported kingston micro sd as they work best. There are various guides here but basically you need to search google for things like NDS Homebrew and NDS Homebrew Emulators. That should bring up alot of the info you need.

JonnyJP
October 1st, 2007, 13:19
Ta,
There's tons of info out there. Some say that you need a cartridge (same as DS) and then something else in the GBA port. Some say you just need a single cartridge that holds a flash card. Some say you need to reboot things etc. Just getting a bit confusing!

How do I get the data onto the micro sd card? I take it a cheap cardreader will be sufficient for my PC?

OPM881
October 3rd, 2007, 10:58