PDA

View Full Version : .mkv?

carlitx
October 14th, 2007, 02:31
ok so I've been googlerizing ion how to play .mkv but to no luck :( so i was wondering, is there any possible way to play .mkv video file extensions on the 360 or what? i have windows xp home sp2 and the latest dashboard updates i do believe so someone please help a total novice to the 360

carlitx
October 16th, 2007, 18:43
anybody want to answer? ive been waiting for like 2 days now.

Kichigai Mentat
February 20th, 2008, 02:58
The short answer is "no." Microsoft did not deign Matroska (one of those foolhardy "open" containers! HAH! We all know closed source is the best way to go! ;) ) Furthermore, the only support for H.264 is in MP4 or MOV containers, which don't allow for AC3 or DTS (actually, there isn't even support for 5.1 AAC, which the PS3 does support). Not all Matroska videos have H.264 video and AC3 or DTS audio, but most of the high def stuff uses those codecs. Microsoft seems a bit slow in supporting popular formats.

The long answer are two qualified "Yes." There are three ways of getting content to the 360: via UPnP, via Media Center, and via USB storage. There are drawbacks to all three of these, but first is overcoming the shortcoming of the XBox 360 lacking Matroska support.