PDA

View Full Version : Can this cause damage to my PSP?

Casper0878
July 14th, 2005, 18:58
I am new to all of this emulation stuff on the PSP and such, so please forgive me if I sound stupid. But will using an emulator on the PSP in any way harm my system? Also, I only currently have the memory stick that comes with the PSP. Will this be big enough for me to run emulators and roms if I decided to use some?? Thank you for your time guys. Really appreciate any info.

Cross
July 14th, 2005, 19:03
maybe a few games and one or two EMU's and maybe (if its snes) 1-4 games. NES will allow you more... but u can use it for a EMU's no problem, just remember to leave space for your game saves. (PSP and EMU alike)

Casper0878
July 14th, 2005, 19:08
oh right on. im currently trying to get my hands on one of those 1gb high speed memory sticks. im sure that will fit tons of stuff. but, will running emulators on the psp harm it in any way?? since its running from the memory stick i dont think anything would happen right?? its not like the pspersonalize that messes with the operating system or anything so i should be ok right?? and thanks for the speedy response cross!!

parabolee
July 14th, 2005, 19:16
Yeah you should have no problems at all.

Some people think that they might do damage because some Emu's run at 33mhz, which often (wrongly) called "overclocking. But since the PSP was designed to run at 333mhz (limited to 222 to save battery power) there is no reason to believe you are at any risk at all.

I have a 1gb stick and it's awesome, Have tons of my favorite classic games on it. Well worth the $100. In fact you will have trouble filling it up with emulator roms! Unless you get a ton on NEOGEO CD games.

Casper0878
July 14th, 2005, 19:18
sweet!! thanks parabolee. hey, if i buy the high speed pro duo memory stick that sony is making from someone in japan, it should work on my american PSP right? i emailed one of the sellers about it and never heard back from them.