PDA

View Full Version : Using irshell to stream mp4 through xmb video player - help!

fungusfeet
January 6th, 2008, 19:35
ok so I'm a bit new at all this, I've only had a psp for a week (it's a slim).

I'm running 3.71 m33-4 and have installed irshell 3.8 which is fine apart from all the lock-ups.

I have some videos encoded to mp4 avc using xvid4psp which play fine if I transfer to memory stick "Video" folder.

Now my goal is to have a folder on my pc serving my psp wirelessly with pre-encoded video that will stream real-time.

I have read that it is possible...I have installed psphost 2 and usbhostfs and nethostfs...nethost is a little buggy and crashes a lot especially when I try to open the video folder. using usbhostfs with redirection (to a folder on my pc) which I called MP_ROOT and placed the folders 100MNV01 & 101ANV01 inside (I have also tried without MP_ROOT as I wasn't sure whether this part of the tree was needed).

I have tried placing mp4's in there, I even tried renaming a file and the jpeg xvid4psp outputted to M4V12345.THM and M4V12345.mp4

When I launch the XMB from inside irshell and go to the video folder, 1) with nethostfs it locks up & 2) with usbhostfs it says no videos found.

Please tell me where I'm going wrong!

Coolie4
January 7th, 2008, 01:04
seems like your making it more complicated than it needs to be. just use PiMPStreamer. its a homebrew mod of the already already modded PMP.

basically what it does is stream media from the pc to the psp, as long as the pimpstreamer gui is open on the pc side, and the app is running on the psp.

it can be used locally, inside your own home network by simply editing the configure file to make server1=your pc's private IP