• DCEmu Homebrew Emulation & Theme Park News

    The DCEmu the Homebrew Gaming and Theme Park Network is your best site to find Hacking, Emulation, Homebrew and for the first time Theme Park News and also Beers Wines and Spirit Reviews and Finally Marvel Cinematic Univers News. If you would like us to do reviews or wish to advertise/write/post articles in any way at DCEmu then use our Contact Page for more information. DCEMU Gaming is mainly about video games -
  • DCEmu Games Reviews Latest News

    by Published on September 16th, 2010 21:39


    lachrymose has released a simple homebrew game known as PS3Pong.
    I give you the first Homebrew game for native GameOS. I coded it in about 12 hours. It’s not very good and I ran into some problems. Fixed soon!
    • Controls: Up / down – Move
    • Cross – Pause (not working)
    • Bugs: Must do a hard reset on exit. Probably an easy fix.
    • Next Release: 2 player!
    Its better than nothing right? Not to mention, this is definitely the right direction. Hopefully we'll see more homebrew apps and games released.

    Source: PS3Hax / lachrymose (Twitter) ...
    by Published on June 30th, 2010 12:18


    Publisher/Developer: Bethesda Softworks
    Developer: Nerve Software / Id Software
    Release: May 26th 2010
    Genre: First Person Shooter / Shoot em up
    Players: Single-player, Co-op, Online Multiplayer
    Age Rating:

    Sequels today are a tough business. Creating a franchise seems to be everything these days. Typically games and the technology and software solutions get better all the time and as a result, sequels often perfect the formula of the first game. Of course, sequels can find it hard to shake that 'it's not as new and exciting as the first game' syndrome, but a lot surpass their first incarnation in terms of enhancements to gameplay, etc. Take something like Gears of War for example. The sequel was much the same as number 1, with a few graphical tweaks, extra weapons, and so on. Is it more fun to play than the first one? I'd say yes, but it also suffers from 'more of the same' syndrome - another affliction of sequels. These aren't negative statements against Gears by any means, both 1 and 2 were great. But you have to wonder - how much will number 3 differ from them? Back to the 90s now, when '3d' was a relatively new concept in gaming, and difficult to pull off in those days. The original Doom wasn't the first game to try and create a 3d world. It seemed to be more of a refinement of the game mechanics of Wolfenstein3D, which the gaming public were super hungry for back in 1994.


    Two players = double fun

    Back in those times with the hardware available, Doom was about the closest to 3D we had. It had the first person perspective - no looking up or down though (even though a lot of levels had some verticality to them, you simply rotate your view left or right, and strafe as well. If something in front of you is lined up vertically with your gun, you'll blow it away, even if it's at a different height. Enemies were 2D sprites in the gameworld, with clever texture swaps used to give the pixelated bastards more depth. You wandered around fairly large environments, collecting coloured keys to open matching doors, checked funny looking walls for secret areas, and picking up a massive arsenal of increasingly devastating weapons.

    That's Doom. That's also Doom II. And that's ok, because there were so few first person shooters back then, a 'more of the same' of Doom was very welcome.


    And they tell two people...

    But it wasn't just the fact that these types of games were rare back then, there's more to it than that. For starters - the Super Shotgun. Never mind the ridiculously powerful and unwieldy BFG, the double barrel beauty is your best friend in this game. It frequently makes the top ten list of best game weapons ever, and with good reason. This reason is because it rocks. It rocks a lot. The spread of it turns a wide throng of enemies into red mush and bloody corpses. The sound of it is glorious, and the reloading animation/sound is one of the most pleasing audio visual experiences you will ever have. It's beautiful, and so much fun to use.


    BOOM!

    Yea, this is an old game, and I feel sorry for those who are young enough to have missed the time when this game came out. You see, whilst it may have been more of the same, you could tell ID had become more confident in the use of their game engine. Levels are more complex and elaborate than Doom 1, with many twists and turns. New enemies are fierce and brutal and attack en masse, some even act as monster generators and spit out other enemies at you. It's hectic and exciting, everything a game should be. AI is pretty much 'come at you with everything' - no more complicated, although if you can position yourself between two bad guys and get one to hit the other, you could start a riot.



    GYAHH HA HA HAAAA!

    I was worried when I booted it up for the first time, that it's oldness would detract from it, but I seriously did not stop smiling the whole time I was playing. They keep the excitement level high for a game with such hardware and software limitations. Encounters are set up so well that it's still a
    terrifying game to play. The controls translate nicely to the 360 pad, and there's certainly no difficulty in picking them up. It's fast paced - more than I remembered even, you'll be rampaging through the many levels at breakneck speed sometimes, obliterating everything in your path.


    I hate these guys so much

    New things exclusive to this port include 1080i support, online multiplayer, splitscreen, and 5.1 surround (which is awesome btw!). Aside from some slight changes to options i.e. remapping buttons is not allowed and the automap cannot be explored past your immediate area. Nothing gamebreaking I assure you. In addition to the 32 maps included with Doom II, and extra episode called 'No Rest For ...
    by Published on June 17th, 2010 16:01


    Platform: PC
    Developer: Runewaker Entertainment
    Publisher: Frogster Interactive


    Ratings:

    PEGI:









    ESRB:


    Runes of Magic is a free to play MMORPG developed by Runewaker Entertainment, a Taiwanese company but is localised for Europe by Frogster Interactive.

    Despite being only a little over a year old the game is already on its third major patch, called chapters, which add to the game and the story.

    The game at first glance is a World of Warcraft clone, but to leave it at that misses the point. Yes the UI and gameplay are very similar to WoW, but Runes of Magic doesn't just leave it at that, instead it takes this foundation and builds upon it, adding features and mechanics that WoW would benefit from.

    Since it is similar to WoW, anyone who has played Warcraft will find Runes of Magic very familiar. The UI and control scheme will be a natural fit to you. Map in the top right? Check. Customisable action bars? Check. Symbols hovering over quest givers? Check. Crafting system? Double check.



    The execution of the game however is where the differences come in and where Runes of Magic shines.

    When creating your character you get to pick from 8 classes. Most of these will be familiar to you, Warrior, Druid, Rogue etc. With a few unusual ones such as Scout and Warden.

    The first big difference comes when you reach level 10. At level 10 your character can choose a second class to enhance your first. So if your first class is Knight and your second class Warrior you will be a Knight (level 10)/Warrior (level 1).

    If you are a Knight, you will have two sets of skills: Knight Skills and Knight Class-specific skills.

    Holy Strike is a Knight skill. All Knights have it and all classes who choose Knight as a secondary class have it.

    Holy Seal is a Knight class-specific skill. Only those with Knight as their primary class may use it.

    You can swap between your primary and secondary classes, this is actually required as you need to level both classes to max to access both sets of skills. So if the Knight/Warrior swaps his classes, he will become a Warrior/Knight gaining access to the Warrior class-specific skills but losing access to his Knight class-specific

    Improving skills can be done also by using talent points, these points you spend on a per-skill basis to increase the level of your chosen skill. These talent points cannot be revoked or undone so you need to choose carefully what you improve.

    The crafting system is also very different from most MMO's. While in most MMO's you may only learn a few professions, Runes of Magic lets you learn all of them, but you're limited in how many you can specialise in. At level 1 you can be an apprentice Woodcutter, Miner, and Herbalist as well as a Tailor, Alchemist and Blacksmith. This is both good and bad. It's great because it means you can explore the various professions without locking yourself into a few. It's also good to get some starting cash as you can sell the lower level herbs and ore to other players. However to a new player this can be overwhelming as there's too much choice at too low a level.



    Runes of Magic's User Interface has a few improvements over other MMO's. When logging into the game, when you click in the password input box an on-screen keyboard will appear in a random location on your monitor. This is here to combat account stealing, as it is much more difficult for a keylogger to trace your password when it is clicked in on a random location on your screen.

    Inside the game there is also an automatic movement option. By enabling this your character will automatically move to where you want them to go. Every quest has this option to let you auto-run to the quest giver or quest receiver. This drastically cuts down on the running around to find one guy that plagues a lot of MMO's.

    As a free MMO they need to make money somehow, as with most Free MMO's Rune of Magic uses a Real Money Transaction (RMT) system. This allows you to purchase, with real life cash, items to enhance your characters, as well as mounts and pets for vanity purposes. Thankfully these items are mostly for player convenience not player power. This means they offer items like luck potions which increase the chance of better drops, or items which reduce or negate the experience penalty from dying. There are a few player power items in jewels which increase the power of an existing item, but it seems like you can get these outside the store albeit they are less reliable.

    Despite that these items are player convenience not power it seems like a lot of the game is intentionally ...
    by Published on June 6th, 2010 20:22

    Thank you to everyone who has entered in our CONTEST: Follow and subscribe to us on YouTube, Twitter and/or Facebook!


    If you followed any of the three social networks, you had a chance to win:

    • YouTube: The XCM USB VGA V-Box allows you to connect your Wii to a VGA screen. Record your gameplay on a hard disk for review, screen capture or to show your skills to friends!
    • Twitter: The NEXiLUX Game Genie Turbo 360 Pre-Installed Controller gives your controller extra powers. Your triggers are individually configurable with settings from one (1) to ten (10) clicks/second. Whether on a FPS, Fighting game, Sports game, Game Genie mod is your best ally against the adversary.
    • Facebook Fan Page: The Nyko Blu-Wave Infrared Remote allows you to easily control the playback of Blu-Ray movies, DVDs and CDs on the PlayStation 3 console & the DecalGirl PlayStation 3 Skin Kit gives your console a complete cool looking makeover without any permanent changes and also protects your console from those nasty finger prints.

    Lets get to the WINNERS and they are...

    YouTube: jshaw6000
    Twitter: @iwantarangelife
    Facebook: Anto Kyuuketsuki

    Claiming Your Prize - Winners will be contacted via the respective sites (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube) and once initially contacted the follow-up will be conducted via email to work out details (address for shipping, etc.) on getting the prize. Winner must claim their prize within 48 hours of receiving the direct message by responding. Failure to respond within the 48 hours will forfeit their prize. Unfortunately, we are not responsible for any lost or damaged products during transit and any incompatibility issues with prize and console and/or games. All prizes are shipped with the cheapest method.

    CONGRATS TO OUR WINNERS! BE SURE TO KEEP CHECKING BACK AS WE'LL HAVE NEW REVIEWS AND MORE STUFF IN THE FUTURE. ALSO STAY SUBSCRIBED FOR THE LATEST NEWS AND INFO.
    ...
    by Published on May 5th, 2010 02:04

    We know our loyal readers already visit DCEmu Reviews, DCEmu Games Reviews and the DCEmu Network daily, but we wanted to do something a little extra to reward our loyal fans and grow our audience in some of the off-DCEmu social networking and content sharing sites that gamers hang out and visit. Not to mention, we need to clean house and make room for new stuff.



    How It Works:
    Follow DCEmu Reviews & DCEmu Games Reviews Contest Overview... It's Easy! That said, we want you to follow DCEmu Reviews on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook Fan Page and as a thank you for doing so we're going to pick a lucky winner from among our DCEmu followers / subscribers / fans on each of these sites to win some great gaming prizes! That's THREE (3) winners - one picked at random from each site. All you need to is click the images above to follow us on each site, and just keep following us! We'll pick our three winners on the last day of the month and announce them on the first day of the new month. The minimum prize value per site will be USD$45 MSRP and you can subscribe to all of YouTube, Twitter and Facebook to maximize your chances of winning. Thanks for following, spread the word and good luck!!

    Follow DCEmu So You Can Win:
    • YouTube: The XCM USB VGA V-Box allows you to connect your Wii to a VGA screen. Record your gameplay on a hard disk for review, screen capture or to show your skills to friends!
    • Twitter: The NEXiLUX Game Genie Turbo 360 Pre-Installed Controller gives your controller extra powers. Your triggers are individually configurable with settings from one (1) to ten (10) clicks/second. Whether on a FPS, Fighting game, Sports game, Game Genie mod is your best ally against the adversary.
    • Facebook Fan Page: The Nyko Blu-Wave Infrared Remote allows you to easily control the playback of Blu-Ray movies, DVDs and CDs on the PlayStation 3 console & the DecalGirl PlayStation 3 Skin Kit gives your console a complete cool looking makeover without any permanent changes and also protects your console from those nasty finger prints.

    Follow DCEmu Contest Details/Rules:
    You must have a YouTube account, Twitter account and Facebook account.

    Eligibility - Open worldwide! In order to participate as a follower / subscriber / fan of the DCEmu Reviews accounts in this contest you must have an account with YouTube, Twitter and Facebook. We'd love you to follow us in all three locations (that maximizes your chances of winning) but it's not required. One, two or all three is fine. If you're already following us when this contest starts, don't worry, you're entered automatically!!

    Claiming Your Prize - Winners will be chosen randomly at the end of the month. Winning usernames will be posted to DCEmu Reviews homepage on the second week of the new month. Winners will be contacted via the respective sites (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube) and once initially contacted the follow-up will be conducted via email to work out details (address for shipping, etc.) on getting the prize. Winner must claim their prize within 48 hours of receiving the direct message by responding. Failure to respond within the 48 hours will forfeit their prize. Unfortunately, we are not responsible for any lost or damaged products during transit and any incompatibility issues with prize and console and/or games. All prizes are shipped with the cheapest method.

    Contest, information and/or prizes may change or end at anytime without notice.

    Prizes: (click on product image/links for review)
    Follow YouTube:


    Follow Twitter:


    Follow Facebook:

    Nyko Blu-Wave Remote & DecalGirl PS3 Skin Kit

    *Prizes may be review products or newly purchased. They include everything needed and as they were received and in the same condition. This may or may not include box and/or instructions but will include all major components. ...
    by Published on March 18th, 2010 17:01


    Peggle
    Platform:
    PlayStation 3 (PlayStation Network) Reviewed. Also on:Windows, Mac OS X, iPod, Windows Mobile, Java ME, BREW, Nintendo DS, Xbox 360 (XBLA), iPhone OS, Zeebo
    Developer: Popcap Games
    Publisher: Sony Online Entertainment

    I wasn’t expecting much when the title screen of Peggle came on with it’s childlike bright colours and picture of a uniform, but I’m glad I stuck with it because it’s one hell of an addictive game. A cross between Puzzle Bobble and Pinball the game has a very easy learning curve which helps you get suckered into the game and soon you’re replacing random shots with precision angles for maximum effect(I still haven’t perfected it).

    The ain of game is to remove all the orange coloured balls or blocks(from here on in I’ll just refer to both as balls) on the screen these are littered amongst blue coloured balls, which just give you points, a purple coloured ball which gives you a points bonus and two green balls which are like your special weapon(I’ll get on to those in a bit). You have 8 pinballs that you shoot from the top of the screen, and much like in Puzzle Bobble, you can aim it any direction in that 180 degrees. Fire the ball and watch it bounce around the screen taking out the other balls as it inevitably heads towards the bottom. Now at the bottom of the screen there is a pot, if the ball goes into the pot you get a free ball, if not you don’t, simple as that. When you hit the last orange ball the camera zooms in slow motion style as the music changes to ‘Ode to Joy’ and there are five holes the ball can fall into at the bottom of the screen - two 10,000 point holes, two 25,000 and one 100,000 in the middle. I never got tired of this moment it was so much fun watching the ball drop.


    There are for different types of game - adventure, quick play, master duel and challenge. Adventure basically gets you into the game, you play through all the different characters, learning their special weapon. There are ten characters, unicorn, flower, frog, alien, rabbit, dragon, lobster, beaver, pumpkin and an owl. There is absolutely nothing unique about their game play apart from their special power, but as you’ll find when playing the challenge levels, choosing which character/special power can be very important. Special powers include seeing where your ball will bounce, lobster flippers at the bottom of the screen(much like you would get in pinball) a space blast which will clear some of the balls, a ghost ball which appears when your ball falls off the screen, and my personal favourite - the Zen shot, choose your shot and the computer will select a better shot for you close by, it’s definitely the power I choose the most.


    At first I didn’t think this game was that up to much it just seemed to be a luck whether or not you took out a lot of balls or just one or two, but as you just into it you look at the screen and plan out how your going to attack the level, hoping that it all goes to plan. Adventure mode only takes a few hours, but it’s the challenge mode that will really consume most of your time, there are something like 55 levels and it gets very challenging after the first six levels so there’s plenty to keep you going.


    The only issue I have is that the duel mode just doesn’t seem to work for me. You take turns until the orange balls have cleared and whoever has the most points at the end wins. I only played this a few times and it just didn’t seem to click, the games weren’t close and there was no excitement in this game mode.

    I don’t usually play online PSN games but I find myself choosing this game over anything in my collection, it’s definitely a must for old school puzzle fans.

    ...
    by Published on March 3rd, 2010 11:46


    Publisher: THQ
    Developer: Vigil
    Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3(reviewed)
    Release:
    NA: January 5, 2010
    EU: January 7, 2010
    AUS: January 8, 2010
    UK: January 7, 2010
    Genre: Action Adventure / Hack and Slash
    Players: Single-player
    Age Rating:
    BBFC: 15
    ESRB: M
    PEGI: 15
    USK: 18


    I did hear much about ‘Darksiders’ before I got my review copy, but was intrigued by the badlands comic style graphics and the post apocalyptic battlefield between demons and angels. The game is trying to be a next generation hack n’ slash that has many creative and familiar aspects which make it both appealing and fun to play in a lot of ways.

    Given that I had been playing the God of War collection up until now it turned out to be more familiar than I had anticipated but on the other hand it was the first attempt by Vigil games into the next generation of console game design.


    David Adams (founder of Vigil games) is well known as a comic artist for the X-men series by Marvel and interestingly their next project will be based on the popular Warhammer 40,000 series. But back to this game.

    The story of Darksiders was quite creative and graphic but focused more on a dramatic introduction and a little less on story until the game has progressed. You play the character ‘War’ (the sinister/humorless one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse) who was basically tricked into starting the apocalypse and as a result had most of his powers taken away.


    The opening sequences involve meteors raining down on Earth with beasts and demons destroying the cities of the world. The character War appears in a similar fashion and does not know what has happened but quickly realizes that the apocalypse has begun. He is then taken by the ‘council’ (who govern the truce between heaven and hell) and told he must restore the balance.

    In order to do this he will kill either the forces of light or dark that gets in his way. To achieve this quickly he makes a deal with a powerful demon who instructs him to confront four of the ancient powerful ‘chosen ones’ (bosses) in order to obtain their hearts and gain access to the ‘dark lord’s’ castle.


    From the onset of the first level the cut scenes were quite dramatic and easy on the eye until your first experience controlling War. At this point I found some of the graphics a bit grainy to be critical but took it in as a developing atmosphere. This area of the game improved as it progressed through the different environments and was sometimes a joy to watch as a comic fan but not in any way pushing the boundaries of graphics.

    The controls and movement of War were a little sluggish/non responsive especially for jumping close to edges which sometimes made a few sections repetitive. I found the aiming system took a little getting used to and a lot of the fighting was very generic, especially the moves which War could perform with the use of one button. This could even be taken a step further and say that most enemies, including bosses, can be destroyed by repeating a simple charging move that is very easy to gain.

    On of the reasons a game such as Batman: Arkham Asylum was so successful was because of its balance between different aspects of the game on top of the combat system that constantly changed and forced you to think. Darksiders on the other hand which centres around its combat has very little variety in terms of moves that you will actually want to use and puzzles that rarely put you out of your comfort zone.


    Like any slash game though it was full of general things, like soul meters as currency for upgrades and secret items in chests to give more health, again all done before with the addition of a few extra powers and abilities to expand your search criteria. There were a few small details I could appreciate though such as the ability to throw objects, fight horse mounted and the way different enemies could be finished. It would have been a nice addition to have multiple endings for the death of each character but at least it could only happen once with a boss and was always pleasing to watch.

    In conclusion it has aspects from a lot of very successful games especially God of War and Zelda but it was a good step for Vigil and has put them on the radar as a serious game developer. It was fun to play and had enough variety and story to keep me interested as the game itself was surprising long and other than a slightly annoying control system it was quit fluid.

    For me it was a bit run of the mill as far as originality is concerned and does not look too much better than a lot of older hack n’ slash games. Much of it is attractive thoughtless entertainment but there are ...
    by Published on March 2nd, 2010 15:18


    There are certain qualities that one comes to expect in a good light-gun game.
    1.It should be easy to just pick up and play
    2.It should be just as, if not more, fun to play with a friend.
    3.There should be a good selection of unlockables, to keep you coming back.

    Darkside Chronicles ticks all of these boxes, and yet it still falls short of gaming perfection in the light gun genre. Annoyingly, this is due primarily to technical flaws which could very easily be avoided, and drags down what should have been a top notch game.

    Darkside Chronicles is very similar to the Wii title that came before it, the Umbrella Chronicles. This game focused on the events of Resident Evil Zero, One and Three. Darkside Chronicles takes what’s left and focuses on the events in Resident Evil Two, and Code Veronica. The two scenarios are tied together by introducing a new original story that depicts Leon Kennedy working for the U.S. government. Sent on a mission in South America, he encounters strange zombie-like creatures and this causes him to recall his last encounter with the undead, in Raccoon City.

    As mentioned already, light-gun games are wonderful to just pick up and play, without getting into the right frame of mind, or getting yourself seriously involved with the plot. For those who like a bit of narrative, Darkside does offer a loosely structured plot that will give you a general idea of what went on in Raccoon City and also on the island off the coast of France in Code Veronica. It doesn’t go into as much detail as the original games, but obviously that’s a plus in this case. If you’re a fan of the series, you already know what happened. You want to get to where it’s at. And where it’s at is blasting through hordes of zombies!


    All the freaks you came to fear and loathe are present in this game, with an extra monster or two thrown in for good measure. The game starts you off with just your handgun and a handful of zombies to mutilate. However, as things progress, you’ll find a wider variety of monsters, as well as different weapons to blow them up with. At no point in the game do you find yourself shooting the same kinds of enemies for too long, which really keeps you on your toes.

    Darkside should be commended for this, but it comes at a horrible price. As you load up the opening level, you will notice that, rather than having a fixed point of view, the camera moves to mimic your characters perspective. While this may seem intriguing at first, the novelty wears off in roughly the space of time it takes you to read this sentence. It’s an interesting premise, having the nerves of your character affect your aim, making things more difficult. Instead, it becomes hugely frustrating, making headshots close to impossible and will almost certainly cause motion sickness after any length of time.

    It takes the majority of the game to come to grips with this shaky camera style (I didn’t get my first headshot until the end of the Resi Evil 2 chapter). If you can overcome this particular aspect though, the rest of the game delivers in nearly every respect.

    In terms of graphics, Darkside utilizes the power of the Wii to its fullest, making it very visually pleasing to look at. The South America sections of the game are a little over ambitious, and try to fit too much onto the screen at once, giving it a somewhat flat and lifeless feel. However, the other sections, Raccoon City in particular, boast a terrifically moody atmosphere, making the creatures that jump out at you (with some excellent animation) all the more terrifying.


    To aid this glum setting, we’re treated to an ominous soundtrack, which is occasionally penetrated by the sounds of evil lurking in the shadows. The voice acting is impressive too, although the dialogue has reached a new low in terms of cheesiness. Again, this doesn’t necessarily detract from the game, as there isn’t nearly as much emphasis on story as there is on action (In fact, if you’re like me, you’ll find the cheesy lines make things all the more entertaining!).

    In conclusion, Darkside has its flaws. The dialogue is cheesy, but we can forgive that. The camera is more difficult to excuse. I like the fact that Capcom is trying new things, but this backfired in a bad way. You’ll find yourself swearing at the screen more than once as you play through.
    Despite this, you’ll almost certainly come back again. There’s a decent amount of unlockable content to keep you blasting away at the Umbrella Corporations grisly creatures (including a very amusing mini-game once you’ve seen the end credits). Minor grievances aside, this is a solid game, great fun to play, and even better with a buddy. Fans of the series will lap it up.

    Pros:
    + T-virus creations are a lot ...
    by Published on March 1st, 2010 20:58


    Platform: XBLA
    Developer: Regolith Games
    Publisher: Konami

    Ratings


    ERSB


    KrissX: The Verbose Vocabulary Vendor

    KrissX, pronounced “Criss Cross”, is an Xbox Live game with its central focal point being the manipulation of letters to form words. It’s simple, basic, and yet it proves to be quite an engrossing, addictive and surprisingly educational game.


    As said above, the aim of the game is to complete puzzles, these puzzles resemble crosswords filled in with anagrams. While the game doesn’t get much more sophisticated or complicated, it still is rather difficult to put down. The game is broken into a few different modes, Quest, Time Trial, Survival, Categorised and a Free Play mode, but they are all pretty similar. The quest mode has 150 stages to beat before you’ve “cleared” the game and after beating the game, this actually seems too short. Each stage has about 8 or 9 words connected like a crossword and as you hover over each word a clue will pop up to make things that bit easier. In general, a basic knowledge of English will be enough to get you through this game but throughout it, I encountered a few words that left me confounded. “Macabre” was one, as was “Zenith” and this brings me to the educational part of this game. I always thought I had a good grasp of the English language but of course after playing KrissX, I had to put dictionary.com in my bookmarks.

    If you look at the bottom left of the screen, you’ll notice a small circle half full of liquid which represents your hint points. When you hit your right trigger, two tiles will flare, and swapping them won’t always give you the word you’re looking for but will bring you that bit closer. To get these hit points, as well as extra time and points, there are small circular symbols which fall from words when you match them up. These symbols, will come down in three different colours corresponding to the X, Y and B buttons on the pad. This seems to be added in to add a sense of competitiveness to the game as trying to get all of them before they float below the bottom of the screen can require extremely dexterous fingers.


    Graphically, the game contains some wonderfully colourful backgrounds and Wordsworth the Owl is ever present (unless a word reaches that corner of the screen in which case he becomes transparent). The tiles are all easy to read but sometimes the clues can be tricky to make out. I had two clues: “fail” and “fall” and I could never tell them apart but in general everything can be made out, even on my abysmal SD TV. The effects when you get a cascade, which is like a domino effect of solving words, is pretty impressive if somewhat overwhelming the first time you see it.

    The audio is actually well suited to the game, with very pleasant, easy on the ears melodies and the victory chime as you solve a word is subtle enough to be ignored in general and yet hugely appreciated when you crack a word you’ve been staring at for five minutes. Although there is a voice that says “Stage Complete” at the end of every stage which is actually quite humorous.

    The achievements for KrissX are actually not too shabby, most of them can be obtained through casual play but a few, like the Extreme Wildfire one actually took some time to pull off. They are doable but not for the casual gamer that KrissX ultimately appeals. And that’s probably the most important thing to note about KrissX. It is a casual game. I turned it on for something to kill 20 minutes. My girlfriend was happy to play it. My mother even tried to give it a shot. It’s a nice game but I’m not sure if it’s worth the 800 points that it’s advertised for. I’d definitely pick it up for 400 but for 800 you would really want to like your word games.

    ...

  • News Categories