Following a series of meetings culminating in a recent Berlin summit, 12 countries have agreed to establish a European Esports Federation this year that will serve as a "moderating partner" rather than a governing body for the industry.
The federation members have compiled "The Berlin Declaration" that includes a collective, agreed-upon definition of what esports consist of, though a source speaking to Esports Observer says that the document hasn't yet been signed. Still, it is supported by the founding members of the federation, and reportedly states that the body will be a non-profit independent of third-parties or private entities.
The twelve countries included so far are the UK, Belgium, Germany, Austria, Hungary, France, Russia, Slovenia, Serbia, Sweden, Turkey, and Ukraine. Also in attendance at the Berlin meeting were The Interactive Software Federation of Europe, the German Games Industry Association, ESL, StarLadder, and Freaks 4U Gaming.