Thread: esotericemu - Java Dreamcast Emulator for WIndows

Blog Entries

Dreamcast esotericemu - Java Dreamcast Emulator for WIndows

News via DCIberia

Rui Caridade is working on the first Java Dreamcast Emulator for WIndows.

Heres his explanation;

Hello.
    I'm working on a SH-4 processor implementation in Java (same as on the Dreamcast console) as a subject for my thesis..it is not very advanced yet, but it already shows something. About the speed, everything is slooow (at least on my athlon xp) but speed hasn't been a concern yet..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/29443198@N00/2181653151/

This is a demo called 256b.bin for the Sega Dreamcast console (don't quite remember the author now).

For more info

http://code.google.com/p/esotericemu/wiki/Esotericwiki

Bye

Heres more of an explanation of the project:

Hello. My name is Rui Caridade and i'm a student at the University of Evora in Portugal. This project aims to study the implementation of a Sh4 (1) software simulator in the Java programming language and is the basis for my master thesis. The final goal will be to use that simulator in a dreamcast emulator, capable of running complex software like NetBSD or Linux at acceptable speeds.

As shown by other projects

- http://www-jpc.physics.ox.ac.uk/ - http://sourceforge.net/projects/jpsx/
    Emulation of complex systems is possible in Java, using dynamic recompilation techniques, having the JVM as the compilation backend. I will study several approaches to how this can be done in Java,present the benefits of each approach, and its performance in several JVM implementations. As such Sh4 to JVM assembler is the main focus of my thesis, and will be the area which will receive the most work. The aim of this project is not to create a full working dreamcast emulator in Java (2), but to use the dreamcast's environment as a testing ground for my implementation of a Sh4 simulator.