Thread: SD Media Launcher or SD Card Adapter+AR?

DCEmu Newbie

Default SD Media Launcher or SD Card Adapter+AR?

I apologize since this is a topic that has been addressed, however a lot of the information seems to be spread out or cryptic and it's hard to translate everything (like a SD card adapter being referred to as a Gecko). I decided that I wanted to softmod my Gamecube. As new games dry up and options become limited I wanted to unlock some of the potential of my GC. I'm not really worried about the Wii right now, but all things being equal something that works on the Wii is a plus.

I'm a newbie to all of this, but from what I can tell if you want to softmod a GC you either want SD Media Launcher or you want a Card Adapter plus a old version of AR (correct me if I'm wrong please) so you can input a long code which you will use to execute SDload. The main problem I have is that it wasn't easy to find the required items (especially for a decent deal). It doesn't seem like I can go to any local stores (I live in the US, not sure if that matters) and find the items I needed and Ebay seems to be a bit absurd with their pricing.

So, here's what I was able to find:
    SD Media Launcher for $19.99 - http://us.codejunkies.com/Products/G..._EF000589.aspx
    Wiikey SD Card Adapter for Wii $5.02 - http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3993
    PEGA SD Card Adapter for Wii Wiikey $4.43 - http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.4980

The adapters by them self are a great deal, but I can't seen to track down any decent deal on AR, heck I'm not even sure how to find out which version I need. So, that's a main question I have, are there any good deals on the AR and how do I find out which version I need/which version it is?