Thread: New to DC Homebrew, have some questions.

DCEmu Newbie

Default New to DC Homebrew, have some questions.

hi, im completely new to the dreamcast scene. i have been around in the xbox scene for a while now as well as the s60 and gba. even though these platforms are newer and are still recieving commercial support i was quick to notice the largest console homebrew scene ever... Dreamcast. well i have just ordered mine ($20) from ebgames.com and plan on checking out all of these cool homebrew games when i get it.
    my question is what is the most complete games? i noticed beats of rage (i got this on my xbox) and feet of fury. are there any more games you could recommend?
    is this scene legal? unlike the most part of the xbox scene.
    does it seem to be slowing down, or still kickin?

Default Re: New to DC Homebrew, have some questions.

Welcome to the Dreamcast community foog!

To answer some of your questions:
    for $20 you'll find you've got yourself a bargain, commercial games for the DC are dirt cheap unless you want to go for imports, you don't need to modify your DC to play homebrew software and a pack of CDR's will cost you next to nothing to try out the free stuff on offer. The Dreamcast software available was created legally from independant dev kits, the scene itself goes through patches where everything goes quiet, then all of a sudden there's loads of new stuff released, check around the forum here for some info about what's new and old.

As a starting point, if you want to try out a small selection of pre-made CD images to burn and play straight away check here:
    http://www.dcevolution.netfirms.com/

Check here for DC newbie info and help:
    http://dcevolution.net/DCHelp/

Don't forget to check out all the links on each site to get an overview of what's on offer for free .

DCEmu Newbie

thanks for the reply