Thread: Mathieulh`s Interview about PSP Hacking Scene

Blog Entries

psp Mathieulh`s Interview about PSP Hacking Scene

ThreeDog's interview with Mathieulh talks about dark alex and the psp hacking scene

if anyone has a link to the real source please post,i got this from a site who never source (so i wont them)

Personal:

1: It seems introductions could be needed so please if you will tell us a little about yourself and how you came to find yourself working on devices such as the PSP.

My name is Mathieu Hervais, I am 24, I am currently a student in computer sciences. As of how I came to be working on the psp, I have always been interested in video game consoles in an engineering perspective, I like knowing how such devices work and how they have been designed, especially their security. I have started taking a look at the psp when I first bought mine back in 2005/2006 back in Japan, I already planned on purchasing one prior to making the trip there and I had already taken a look at ps2dev forums back then, I was pretty excited about getting my hands on the unit and once I did I wasn't disappointed, there were already a bunch of released emulators back then and the sdk was already impressive, I found myself playing for a little while until I wondered how everything worked (there was still little known of the kernel at the time or the updating procedure) I believe that's how it started for me.

2: How would you personally define yourself or what you do, Are you a Programmer, a Coder, a Hacker, a Reverse Engineer or do you prefer another title?

I don't think I ever really thought about that, as far as I am concerned, you can call me however you like xD, I have done my share of reverse engineering, coding or hacking, so I guess all the terms apply.

3: What would you say has been your greatest achievement within the console/programming scene and why?