Thread: Hey guys! Bit of advice...

Smile Hey guys! Bit of advice...

Howdy! Quick intro: I'm a graphic designer and web programmer living in the UK, and I (used to) release XP themes, so if you like to customise (which you most likely do) check out some free downloads on Web 9 Design or a full archive at http://b0se.deviantart.com.

Onto the PSP...

I'm not a fan of n00b questions, but I think I've actually done *too much* research and reading so i could avoid this kind of post :¬)

I've read so many guides I'm totally lost as to which is the most relevant and up-to-date.

I have (well, should have soon, pending arrival from eBay) a Japanese PSP (1000) with 2.0 firmware.

I plan to:

1. Downgrade to 1.5 using This method.

Are firmware releases hardware independent - I.e. does it matter my PSP is Japanese, can I install any firmware release?

2. Install Dark Alex's 2.71SE-B3

This is where I get confused. Too many versions!

Do I install SE-A, then B1, B2 and B3? Or do I jump straight to SE-B1, then B2, B3? Anyone have a simple guide for this updating process?

Also, I've seen mentioning of UpdateFlasher (is this just for 2.71 owners?) and 'Homebrew enabler for 2.71 (Revision C)'. Do I need to run any of these? Anything I've missed?

Thanks for looking :¬)

Ross

Oh, one final thing: Whats the fastest memory to get for the PSP? Sandisk 1GB?

DCEmu Old Pro

1. Downgrade to 1.5 using This method.

Are firmware releases hardware independent - I.e. does it matter my PSP is Japanese, can I install any firmware release?
    Dont think so, american firmware works on EU hardware, but i dont have a jap psp to test it on, but i think it shouldnt matter

2. Install Dark Alex's 2.71SE-B3

This is where I get confused. Too many versions!

Do I install SE-A, then B1, B2 and B3? Or do I jump straight to SE-B1, then B2, B3? Anyone have a simple guide for this updating process?
    jump to se b (b1), then upgrade to se b' (b2) then se b'' (b3)