Thread: MK5 GIGA cart 8G version Review

Blog Entries

NDS MK5 GIGA cart 8G version Review

Supplier - IC2005 - Neoflash

A few weeks ago i recieved the new MK5 Giga Cart 8G version from Neoflash to review, my apologies but im very late with it, with all the news i post and judging comps and running websites it leaves little time to get moving on reviews.

Now ive said this before but its always best to state it again, i am no tech head when it comes to Flash Carts, im not a developer im just a normal fan who wants to know that the flash cart works, saves work, i can play Homebrew and Emulators, i can play my own backups of games i own and that the process is easy to do and understand.

First off heres a look at the flash cart

The GBA size cart is your linker and sits in the slot 2 GBA port, you will need to have a Mini USB Lead, you do not get one of them in the pack so if you havent already got one, then youll need one. the other cart is your Flash Cartridge which stores your files, think of it as an hard drive for your Nintendo DS.

Ok heres the specs as printed on the official site/shop:

* Support clean rom,not need any patch,just need drag and drop
    * Huge memory space,from 8Gbit upto 64Gbit
    * USB 2.0 high-speed data transfer
    * USB disk function, compatible with any operation system
    * Build in the last moonshell V1.5 and upgradable
    * Support homebrew
    * Build in SMS multi save function,and auto save
    * Menu upgradable,just need drag and drop the new core to MK5
    * Multi rom support,media play support
    * MK5 turbo engin, 100% full game running speed ,without any delay
    * Build in passme function,can boot almost GBA flash cart perfectly

Getting the ball rolling

Before i start this works on all revisions of DS/DS Lite to stop those questions later. First off i put the Slot 1 Flash Cart into the DS and turned it on. The flashcart displayed a screen like this: