Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PS2 CompactFlash

DCEmu Newbie

Default PS2 CompactFlash

I am a COMPLETE noob with the PS2. This is actually one of my first projects attempted with it. I am deeply into Dreamcast and Nintendo DS homebrew so I have a little bit of knowledge to make me not AS much of a noob i guess.

My question is, can I hook up a CompactFlash card to my PS2 through the USB connection? Specifically, I want to use the USB cord and reader for my Nintendo DS CompactFlash card to establish the connection. It is the only form of removable media I have that will hook up through USB and I do not have the PS2 hard drive or ethernet adapter.

The card I have is a Lexar 2GB 80x, and the reader came with "Max Media Dock" for Nintendo DS. This card is recognized by any PC I hook it up to immediatelly, and will not be recignized by the PS2 by simply hooking it up and turning it on. The card on the PC is also read as a "Lexar card" and not a card reader or nintendo ds device, which is why i think it MIGHT work.

My primary purpose to this is to get a Super Nintendo emulator running as Dreamcast refuses to see full speed SNES emulation and the SNES emu for DS doesnt play Final Fantasy games too well.

Before I start this, am I headed in the right direction for reaching my goal? I plan on using the "cogswap" method once i can get the files to my memory card. And once my files are actually to my memory card, do i NEED a gameshark or action replay? or is there ANY way to do this without the need to purchase anything extra?

my psp hooks up and 3 of my usb drives as long as ther in fat format works

i don't get how to use my psp or usb drive to do it, it wont work for me for some reason, is there something your supposed to do (my psp does have custom firmware)

narn: Oh, please yes! You would be come another addition to my pantheon of personal gods if you can improve SNES emulation on the PS2!