Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: PSP Dev Tutorials - Setting up the Development Environment

Blog Entries

Thumbs up PSP Dev Tutorials - Setting up the Development Environment

Lesson 01
    Setting up the Development Environment
    How to get the toolchain and PSPSDK up and running with CYGWIN on a windows machine. The complete newbie's guide.
    This is the first installment in a series of tutorials focussed on getting a novice programmer well on his way to developing his own homebrew applications for the Sony Playstation Portable (PSP). If you are reading this, congratulations, you have hurdled one of the biggest obstacles for a programmer. Likely the most difficult thing about programming is getting started. Well, by starting to read this tutorial, you are well on your way.

The first step to creating your own program is getting your environment set up. This environment is how you will convert the source code you write into a compiled file formatted for execution on you PSP. We will be setting up two important tools on our system.

The first of these tools is called CYGWIN. It is basically a Linux emulator for windows. It will create a simulated Linux environment on your computer so that you can run native Linux applications. This may sound intimidating, but don't worry, it's very simple to use.

The second thing you'll need is the toolchain. This is the key to programming for the PSP. It will set up everything you need, from header files, to libraries, to the compiler itself, to the sample programs. Once you have this installed, you will be nearly ready to create your first program.

Now for the part we've all been waiting for: the installation.