PDA

View Full Version : 2.0 User, New to Scene, Needs Advice..

MilesBergz
May 14th, 2008, 06:33
Hi There,

I am new to the PSP homebrew scene, and it's a bit more complicated than the NDS homebrews.

I have read alot of posts and information regarding the different options I have as to customizing my PSP to better operate homebrew,etc.. but I need some clarification, please..

My PSP is currently running 2.0 firmware, and I do not believe it has the TA-082+ motherboard. I understand the 1.5 firmware is one of the most desirable firmwares for homebrew, but some of the information I have been reading seems to be out of date? I know that it is easy to downgrade with the TIFF Exploit, but is that my best option?

Will I need a Pandora's Battery and/or Magic Memory stick still? Should I use Dark_Alex's TimeMachine? Should I just keep it 2.0 and use the eLoader?

3x 1GB Sony Duo Pro Memory Sticks are coming to me in the mail. I am assuming I will need to format them. Any special process? I hope to use each stick for a different function (emus, music, movies).. If I get the hang of things, I will probably get a larger chip. Does the MicroSDHC adapters work well with PSP homebrew?

I am most interested in running Emu's for the NES, SNES, and PSX.. would be nice to run UMD and ISO files, as well.. but which firmware version and/or route of options should I take to make it the most compatible?

I just want to make sure my information is up to date so I don't have to re-doing my customization all over again. Any links provided would be great, I can do the reading..

So if it was YOUR PSP, what route would you take it to make it run the most effectively?

Thank you in advance,
Sorry for being a n00b.

-Milez

Wally
May 14th, 2008, 07:47
Best idea would be to downgrade to 1.5 after updating to 2.80 then use the 3.52 M33 installer and then the 3.90 M33 installer.