PDA

View Full Version : No serial port!

Giomancer
October 29th, 2005, 22:38
OK. My nice, shiny new computer doesn't have a serial port.

I'm being outbid left and right for the BBA.

The USB coder's cable has been dropped. :'(

So.. is it possible to connect the DC to the computer with the normal modem? I presume that it would be slow as hell, but I need something to do while I hunt down a BBA.

- Gio

edit: updated the subject. :)

Darksaviour69
October 29th, 2005, 22:53
i'm no coder, but i pretty sure that running code thought the modem has not happend yet (for development)

about the USB coder's cables: even thought they are not going to be made, they you can still get the plans for them and make them yourself.

+ there is also multi session cd ;)

quzar
October 29th, 2005, 23:26
it has happened, but we have no tcp/ip stack implementation for it.

Try using a combination of chankast and Itoldedo's DCemu for the time being.

You could also buy a serial port card. They usually only cost a few $ if you find it online or at some random tiny computer shop.

bender
October 30th, 2005, 00:41
You could also buy a serial port card.

Unless your computer is a laptop :p Very few laptops come actually with a serial port. Most big pc's mobos have it (yet) but seems that is something that is going to disappear in a few years :( . The parallel port is something that all computers have though. The problem of the serial port is basically that is too slow for data transfers between your custom devices, net,... is something outdated.

For a laptop, there're pcmcia cards with serial ports, but cost about 100€ here (much better a BBA). I don't know if are valid for pc<->dreamcast data transfers

Kamjin
October 30th, 2005, 06:22
You can also use a USB->Serial adapter they're usually about $10USD (cheapest soluton) I'm use one on my laptop to connect to the DC

quzar
October 30th, 2005, 07:33
o_O Kamjin is back!!!

Giomancer
October 30th, 2005, 08:38