PDA

View Full Version : DS, Development, Compatibility...

karurosu
October 27th, 2004, 20:45
Hello everyone, this is my first post.
When I found out that I really wanted to buy a DS, I went to the Nintendo site looking for specs, features, etc. but there isnt much info there, so when I found your forum, I decided to participate
I am somewhat related to the GBAdev scene (I am a learning programmer) so pardon me if i mention linkers or flash carts, but I will for the sake of clarity only.
The first thing I noticed was the processors, 1 ARM7 and 1 ARM9, thats good if you dont want to play old GB/GBC games, because, in the GBA there was a Z80 processor in charge of running the GB/GBC games, so firts bad point.
The next thing I noticed was that there will be no Link port, that means that:
1.- I cant load any multiboot games!
2.- Goodbye multi-cart playing
3.- Goodbye to some linkers, and carts. (they are needed for actual game testing) 2nd bad point.

Maybe Nintendo has already thought of something, but still those are some really bad points.

Ok, the Specs of the system are very nice, and better stop complaining, maybe when I have mine in hands...

Anyway, I said all of the above because some nice person stole my GBA and my Flash cart, and I wanted the DS to replace them, but looks like I will have to buy also a GBA. Geez.
Sorry if I bothered anyone, I only thought that this info may come in handy for someone.
See ya.

sully
October 28th, 2004, 07:54
yeah too bad about the linker thingy :-[

that sucks abut your GBA - im gettin rid of my GBA with its flash cart while i can still get some money for it. so ill suggest you wont miss yours so much when the DS comes out ;)

wraggster
October 28th, 2004, 13:26
im sure a way around the problem will be available.

Homebrew on the DS looks a very mouthwatering prospect

maybe the gba port can be used for ds homebrew, who knows until it shows up

karurosu
October 28th, 2004, 19:29
Yeah, thats right