PDA

View Full Version : A new Quake port

PeterM
January 5th, 2006, 14:37
Hello,

I am happy to release the first version of my port of Quake to the PSP. Hopefully some people will enjoy it.

Here is the readme:

Quake for PSP
=============

Peter Mackay
5th Jan 2006

Introduction
------------

This is a port of id Software's Quake to the PSP. There's already an excellent port out there by PacManFan, but I wanted to code something for the PSP and it was a good project. I also wanted to port from the original id source, instead of the PocketQuake source.

Features
--------

The following is working fine:
- Software rendering.
- Sound.

Things missing:
- WLAN support for network play. Nobody I know has a PSP, so I can't implement this.
- Hardware rendering. I have no PSP GU experience, so it'll take a while to do.

Installation
------------

This game is for PSPs with firmware versions 1.0 or 1.5. To get it running on other versions, you will need to up/downgrade your firmware appropriately. Unfortunately I don't have a v1.0 PSP, so I can only hope that it works on that version of the firmware.

It almost definitely won't work with a v2.00 EBOOT loader.

Installation instructions:
1. READ THE CONTROLS SECTION BELOW.
2. Firmware v1.0 users:
Copy the Quake folder from the 1.0 folder to the PSP/GAME folder on your PSP.
Firmware v1.5 users:
Copy the Quake and Quake% folders from the 1.5 folder to the PSP/GAME folder on your PSP.
3. Download the shareware version of Quake for the PC from here:
http://www.idsoftware.com/games/quake/quake/index.php?game_section=demo
4. Copy PC Quake's ID1 folder to your PSP/GAME/Quake folder.

Controls
--------

Regarding the buttons:

The PSP buttons are connected to the following keys during the game and when the menu is shown. You will need to go into Quake's options and configure the keys you want to use.

PSP | Game key | Menu key | Default game function
---------+------------+----------------+----------------------