PDA

View Full Version : Sony: PS3 Still For "Early Adopters" - PSP for "Ghetto Kids

wraggster
January 15th, 2009, 20:39
The PlayStation 3 was released in North America in November 2006. That's over two years ago. So we're well out of the "early adopter" phase, right? Not according to Sony we're not!

In an interview with Gamasutra, Sony's John Koller has said:

The PSP, from a handheld perspective, it's more of a 13-17 year old [demographic], multi-ethnic, a bit lower-income as well. The PS3 is still in its early adopter phase, tech-oriented consumer... they're interested in the multi-functionality of the system.
Alternate headline: Sony says PSP for "Ghetto Kids".

http://kotaku.com/5131658/sony-ps3-still-for-early-adopters

inlovewithi
January 15th, 2009, 23:00
Just what I've been saying for the past 3 years, ghetto people love the PSP. Why? It's more expensive, and it has a name brand like Sony. I live in the Bronx, and even though the DS is killing the PSP, then only handheld you see around here are PSPs. It's all part of the hip hop influence to try and live above what you can afford, bling, bling.

wolfpack
January 15th, 2009, 23:07
Im white and i have a psp

Does that make me ghetto?

I sure as hell dont think so :x

Buddy4point0
January 15th, 2009, 23:19
LOL!
Yea... actually, most black people I know use a PSP instead of an Ipod, but don't play games on it.

W/e, I use my PSP mainly for gaming and partially for movies.
I never listen to music on it.

Veskgar
January 16th, 2009, 04:18
That's funny. Now they're touting the PSP as a 13-17 demographic? When it was released and for a while thereafter it was said over and over again by SONY that the PSP is mostly for a 23-29 year old demographic.