PDA

View Full Version : GDC 09: Game Critics Rant at the Industry

wraggster
March 28th, 2009, 09:47
Over the last few years, the rant session at Game Developers Conference has become one of the most memorable events of the whole week. They have been home to some of the most controversial statements and some of the most challenging ideas about videogames. In 2007, Chris Hecker ran afoul of Nintendo fans when he compared the Wii to two GameCube's duct-taped together. In 2008, Jon Mak chose not to rant at all. Instead, he filled the conference room with brightly colored balloons and dance music while encouraging attendees to play with one another.

This year's rant, "Burned by Friendly Fire: Game Critics Rant," turned the mic over to game journalists instead of developers. Heather Chaplin, author of Smartbomb offered tough words for the gaming industry. "I've been covering the games industry for eight years, mainly for mainstream outlets, and I often find myself acting as a translator," Chaplin said.

Chaplin wondered how it is that videogames remain so focused on violence and zombie gore. "The excuse is that the videogame industry is only thirty-five years old," said Chaplin. "But after thirty-five years rock & roll had Bob Dylan, the Beatles, and the Clash. After thirty-five years film had Fritz Lang, film noire, and was a few years away from Citizen Kane." Chaplin blamed the inability of the medium to move beyond male-centric power fantasies as a direct result of developer heterogeny and immaturity.