PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts On Firmware

finalfantesy
March 2nd, 2006, 14:11
Ok first i hope i dont get in trouble for writing this (dont think i will) Now every one is comlainning about sony and tall the anti homebrew firmwares and the need to update to play some games like GTA so i was thinking couldnt some one mke a modified 1.5 firmware (posably for MPH's firmware loader) that has the stuff you need to play those game and then you dont have to have the iso of the game so people with small memsticks can still play the games ex.

1.50 firmware with the 2.0 library built in

1.50 with all the features of 2.00-2.60(if even posable to isolate features)

(this one is realy out there) 2.60 with the need for sony's signature removed(told you it was out there)

Or Like*the way you need a (for example) PSX BIOS to play psx games with a psx emulator mabey a 2.00 BIOS could be ripped/made for use with a emulator made for 2.00 UMDs

note: only sugestions i am just learning to code so i would be no use to any of this but mabey an ambitious coder might try cause people like me who dont have a gig mem stick or even a 512 cant realy use the new thing from MPH but mabey it could be used as a stepping stone to this

You got to admit that this would be cool

yaustar
March 2nd, 2006, 15:01
Reverse enginnering the firmware is no small task and the possiblities of bricking a PSP is high if the firmware is flashed/developed incorrectly. You also have to make it complatible for all hardware revisions.

finalfantesy
March 5th, 2006, 14:34
yeah but imagine if it were done it'ld be great i dont have much money but i wouldent mind even donating money to coders for a few psps incase they get bricked i heard somewere that fanjita is taking a break (no sure tru or not) but mabey if he and MPH worked together they might be able to do it

finalfantesy
March 5th, 2006, 14:35
how do add custom avatars

kyle2194
March 5th, 2006, 23:07