PDA

View Full Version : Coding help

Gene
March 26th, 2006, 06:02
I'm just starting to learn how to code games(as in the green dot eats the red dot) and i'm what you would call a coding nub. as you know it is hard to find a good coding tutorial. I'm just wondering if someone could link me to a good coding tutorial or could just give me some pionters for psp or whatever might help me.
Anything helps, Thanx.

b8a
March 26th, 2006, 07:04
What's your skill level? If you're absolutely, absolutely new to coding, I would start out with learning C on your home computer. Google "C/C++ tutorials" and you should find a slew of helpful tutorials to get you started.

As far as programming specifically for the PSP goes, there's some great tutorials available at http://www.scriptscribbler.com/psp/tutorials.

Also, if you're new to console programming, you may want to try programming for the GBA first. There are lots of emulators available for it, so it's pretty easy to test on your home computer. It's also been around longer than the PSP, so programming for it is documented A LOT better (non-official PSP programming is only a little more than a year old, and it's not extremely well documented, and some methouds are still pretty spotty). So, it may be easier to get started with, while still using a lot of the same concepts as PSP programming. A GBA programming community hub is here: http://www.gbadev.org/. And a very comprehensive guide for programming is available at: http://www.jharbour.com/gameboy/default.aspx.