PDA

View Full Version : making homebrew

katachristic
July 16th, 2009, 17:33
what steps would be taken in making a new homebrew game.
for instance, if i wanted to make the helicopter game for homebrew, where would i start?

VampDude
July 16th, 2009, 21:01
You would start by learning a programming language, then firstly creating something simple to run within DOS or Windows.

katachristic
July 17th, 2009, 03:21
thanx! im a very quick learner
for example, i started playing guitar a month ago and just between now and the time i wrote that last post
i wrote about 3/4 of a new song im making!
im good w/ my hands and have a near photographic memory.

This should be fun!:)
btw any reccommended languages? im googling now so god knows what ill find.

VampDude
July 17th, 2009, 14:23
There is C and Linux, though which to use is down to the person as they are different.

BlueCrab
July 17th, 2009, 16:25
Making a game, or indeed any sort of program can be a lot of work, but once you get something up and running, the results are quite inspiring. If you really want to learn how to make a game, the first thing to do is to learn how to program.