PDA

View Full Version : Downgrading for dummies, by Dummies

LeperMessiah
June 9th, 2006, 13:52
This is for Dummies, by Dummies :D
Ok now bear in mind I am not a programmer nor do I claim to be.

But this is theoretically feasible.

for the PSP to "boot up", it would have an operation in it's kernel to tell it the process to boot up. For example the PSP knows whether to launch a UMD or to boot to the "Main Menu".

Think of this as a PC Bios.

Well if someone could figure out a way to have a boot sequence that started with the memory stick, then theoretically you could have an interruption in the process stored in an app on the memory stick that would allow a different version FW to be run. So you boot up and the PSP recognizes the memory stick first, and then just like a dual boot PC, you have the option of "Boot from A (Memory Stick), or Boot from B (Internal Bios)."

Also if this option is feasible then, your PSP would never truly change FW It would always be 2.0 or 2.6 or whatever it is. You would just fool the hardware into thinking it had version 1.0 or 1.5 or whatever upon booting, (if you choose to).

This thing is not so highly encrypted or protected that it can't be broken, I mean the first proof of that I think would be the GTA Exploit.
Remember the Xbox softmod started with a MechAssault Exploit.

So we are on the way, but maybe the real solution is to get some of these hacking whiz's that don't give a sh*t about the PSP to suddenly take interest in it and view it as a personal challenge.

After all there are very few hardware/software issues that I have ever seen that could not be cracked by hackers. I think we just need to start playing a broader field to crack this puppy.

IndianCheese
June 10th, 2006, 00:01
These are the kind of people I like to see trying to hack the PSP. Not some lame "uh juzt liek feind a way 2 downgrad lol itz nawt taht harrd" kind of person. Think outside the box!