PDA

View Full Version : need a sticky for noobs, What do all these things do?

June 23rd, 2006, 04:11
I've read about five pages of threads now, and im so confused...

Everyone knows these terms yet there are no topics explaining what they are.

So to begin with,

What is a Supercard and what does it do?
What is a Superpass and what does it do?
What is EZ4Flash and what does it do?
What is a M3 and what does it do?

Quay Cur
June 23rd, 2006, 14:54
I know what you mean. I'm quite new at this also but I think I've at least got the hardware down.

A Supercard/EZ4Flash/M3 are flash carts that go in a GBA or DS's GBA slot. They are more or less a GBA cart that you can put a flash memory card in (like Compact Flash, all the SD types and so on). This allows you to load files (music, homebrew apps, games) on your GBA or DS.

A Superpass is a type of pass through device that tells the DS to load what's in the GBA slot (your Supercard, M3...) as if it were a DS game. This is good for DS roms. I don't know if you would need it for homebrew apps that use the touch screen, though.

Anyway, the best combination that I can find seems to be an M3 with a Passcard 3 (made by the same company). Just make sure you don't get a PassKEY. It's a huge thing that sticks out of the top of your DS and requires a DS game to be plugged into it. The Passcard is the same size as a regular DS game. Check out the M3 site if you want, it's all in very bad english, but the info is all right.

http://www.m3adapter.com/

This was the first thing I read on here and cleared up a lot of my questions (if the link doesn't work it's called The Noobs Guide to DS Homebrew by MutantMooBunny posted in this section). Here's the link:

http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=27011

Mazza
June 23rd, 2006, 16:31
Basically M3, Supercard and EZ4Flash are the same thing. Flashcarts.

You can get flascarts and adaptors.

You can get 3 versions of the M3, sd, mini sd and compact flash.