PDA

View Full Version : Super Spartan Portable PSP Halo 3 Lua



RealRitzcracker
July 6th, 2006, 22:07
Hello everyone!
I've been working on my own version of a halo game in lua for the psp. I have an xbox and a xbox360. Love Halo and I wish I could play it on the go. So I figured if people can make duck hunt and air hockey in lua. Ill try to make a Halo 3 game in lua. Im not a pro in lua. I've just made a few programs. Im really good with design, photoshop, good at getting files, and pretty good with lua. Know the psp inside and out. The game is pretty good but I dont have any beta testers or coders so its pretty hard for me to get anything done. So I would love some help if anyone could.

yaustar
July 6th, 2006, 22:22
As i said before, show us what you have so far so we know what we are taking on.

Accordion
July 6th, 2006, 22:45
im happy to beta test anything!

except flash apps of course
(hmm... both flash types)

ninja9393
July 6th, 2006, 22:47
if it looks good ill beta test this game
even though im a beta tester to halo 2d:p

Shadowblind
July 6th, 2006, 22:48
Heck I'll beta too, I always help with lua games

Accordion
July 6th, 2006, 22:59
i like the comparison of duck hunt and air hockey to HALO

borgamix123
July 6th, 2006, 23:48
i would love to try it too

Gizmo356
July 6th, 2006, 23:51
let us get a screen

ninja9393
July 7th, 2006, 01:17
tea we need like a screen shot or something if you want anybody to beta test

RealRitzcracker
July 7th, 2006, 02:06
Ya of course. Ill have a screenshot and script up by tommorow. Is that okay?
I have a lot of work to do.
So ill upload them tommorow.

Gizmo356
July 7th, 2006, 02:13
okay and i could help you code the game

RealRitzcracker
July 7th, 2006, 04:12
Okay guys im just blanking out right now. Umm lets say that i want a diffrent lua script to load after pressing cross X what code would I use
if pad:cross() then---------------------------------------

end

MasterChafed
July 7th, 2006, 04:15
if pad:cross() then
screen:clear()
dofile ("script.lua")
end
-----------------------

where script.lua is the file that you want to load.

this should work

RealRitzcracker
July 7th, 2006, 04:41
Nope
It stays on the same screen

MasterChafed
July 7th, 2006, 04:54
if pad:cross() then
gamestate = "game"
end
end

function playGame()
screen:clear()
dofile("script.lua")

if pad:start() then
gamestate = "menu"
end
end




--this part is after the main loop


if gamestate == "game" then
playGame() end

stotheamuel
July 7th, 2006, 05:06
hmm how is it a halo 3 game... halo 3 isnt out... do you know the weapons? vehicles? characters? environments?

yaustar
July 7th, 2006, 12:22
Nope
It stays on the same screen
The code is fine. The problem is your code logic.

MasterChafed
July 7th, 2006, 12:31
yes, i knew that my code worked because i use expressions like that all the time. It must be the way you have got your code written.

RealRitzcracker
July 7th, 2006, 18:58
Ya I guess so but nothings working.
Im so confused

yaustar
July 7th, 2006, 20:13
It is kind of difficult to see what you are doing wrong if we can't see what you are doing.

RealRitzcracker
July 7th, 2006, 21:06
Hello all my game is almost ready for beta testing. But the menu's are pretty ugly. So I won't emmbarse my self. So I really need some help. Can anyone make me some menu's that look like the real thing. I would be very very thankfull. :D

This is the menu I have right now its pretty bad

http://img310.imageshack.us/my.php?image=menu1rs.png


Now you can see why I need your help

ninja9393
July 7th, 2006, 21:09
link dosent work so just edit your post and attach the menu file to your post

yaustar
July 7th, 2006, 21:26
http://img310.imageshack.us/my.php?image=menu1rs.png
True link

RealRitzcracker
July 7th, 2006, 21:29
help

yaustar
July 7th, 2006, 21:47
It is kind of difficult to see what you are doing wrong if we can't see what you are doing.
That means, if I can't see your code (yes post here), I can't help you. Also, explain EXPLICTLY what you need help on. The code? The artwork? Bugs? etc.

RealRitzcracker
July 7th, 2006, 22:06
The artwork its really bad. I need a new menu a nice looking menu that looks like its from the halo game. I would be very very thankfull.

THIS LINK WORKS http://img310.imageshack.us/my.php?image=menu1rs.png

Zion
July 8th, 2006, 01:01
i think that menu looks nice :D

dtothabreezy
July 8th, 2006, 01:55
thats great i will help wit coding if u need it

RealRitzcracker
July 8th, 2006, 02:05
That menu is nothing compared to the real one. Thats the goal im looking toward. I want this game to look so nice people think its the actual game.

RealRitzcracker
July 8th, 2006, 02:20
The Beta will be up in two days.
Sorry for the delay.
But I've been on vactation.
And my brother deleted my whole hard disk drive.
But I backed up a few files on my psp.
So I have to re-code a few scripts.
Make a few new images.
But dont worry!
When its out it will be worth your time! Hopefully :)

RealRitzcracker
July 8th, 2006, 03:10
Does anyone know the max buffer of memory that lua has. How much can I load until it doesn't work. Right now im working with some large files and I was wondering the max memory lua can hold.

yaustar
July 8th, 2006, 03:46
5 mb in RAM I think

Shadowblind
July 8th, 2006, 03:49
thats as big as a normal sized GBA game so you shouldnt have to take much stuff off for that :D

RealRitzcracker
July 8th, 2006, 04:40
Now I relize why I was trying to load 25mb LOL hahahahahahaha
w0w

RealRitzcracker
July 8th, 2006, 16:10
what does it mean when it the error and it says attempt to index global 'timer' (a nil value)

yaustar
July 8th, 2006, 17:12
Stop cross posting between threads. It is extremely annoying.

It means that timer doesn't have a value. It is just an empty variable that you have just created but not initialised and you are attempting to use it.

Gazamadaz
July 11th, 2006, 12:42
Oh oh, I'll test! I love beta testing! Who doesn't?

yaustar
July 11th, 2006, 12:44
Ask the guys who used to do QA for a living.

dalejrrocks
July 11th, 2006, 12:54
why don't you just post all your errors and the code associated with them in one post so people can help you? You can unload images from memory if you have too much, like when you don't need the menu anymore you can unload that. is this like a 2d scroller?

yaustar
July 11th, 2006, 14:03
Can you actually unload images from memory in lua player? So far the only thing i can think of is to keep the image a local variable.

onecrzyazn
July 11th, 2006, 17:41
http://img480.imageshack.us/img480/3659/ssp7bd.jpg

ninja9393
July 11th, 2006, 18:12
WOW:eek: that a good menu:D

BL4Z3D247
July 11th, 2006, 18:39
thats a real good menu, u like the color blue don't you onecrzyazn :D

stotheamuel
July 11th, 2006, 19:47
well since blue is a definate theme in halo menus :p

onecrzyazn
July 12th, 2006, 05:40
well since blue is a definate theme in halo menus :p


True lols

BL4Z3D247
July 12th, 2006, 05:47
holy sh!!!t!!! i never noticed that(as i just went to take a look), to busy gettin my blaze on lol :D, but i was referrin to his avatar cuz its megaman and hes blue obviously so i was just wonderin if that was ur favorite color lol

onecrzyazn
July 12th, 2006, 05:50
accually my favorite color is purple, but blue jsut looks good lmao

BL4Z3D247
July 12th, 2006, 06:05
yeh it does :D

RealRitzcracker
July 13th, 2006, 03:04
Im like to thank all of you
But suddenly my photoshopping skills have came back so im doing all of it by myself
sorry crazy im not going to be using your menu.

Sorry All

ninja9393
July 13th, 2006, 03:55
well lets just see one screen shot of the game

Gizmo356
July 13th, 2006, 04:24
yes just one im starting to......nevermind just show us a screen

ninja9393
July 13th, 2006, 04:39
dos anybody have the feeling he has done nothing?

Gizmo356
July 13th, 2006, 04:49
no ofense but i do cause we havent got even a screenshot yet. I want to believe you but i cant

Shadowblind
July 13th, 2006, 05:09
we do need a screenshot soon.

The Hombrew Hunter
July 13th, 2006, 06:00
I feel he's kinda bsing you guys.

ninja9393
July 13th, 2006, 06:46
and defenitly not a fake screenshot
no offense

RealRitzcracker
July 15th, 2006, 04:40
EVERYONE
I've read many posts all of the psp community.
I see the flaming the us lua coders get.
So I dont want to release anything until its really good.
Cause if the first game I release looks like shit.
They will remember that first game and keep flaming and flaming no matter how good the game gets.

RealRitzcracker
July 15th, 2006, 04:43
The game has already been under work for 4 months.
And it looks AVERAGE
And I wont release it till it looks
AMAZING
Which will proably be another 4 months.
This is real game.
I just dont like to be flamed or and over like other people do.
So dont worry this is real. And when you see it you will shit your pants and go holy shit.
That shit is fuKCing mother fuKCing amazing
OFF THE FUKCING CHAIN
And then you'll see
All good things
Take time
So MODS DELETE THIS THREAD
AND EVERYONE ELSE ILL SEE YOU IN 4 months
MODS DELETE THIS THREAD
DELETE
DELETE
DELETE
DELETE

Kaiser
July 15th, 2006, 05:03
I won't delete it (not our policy) but I'll lock it for you. Good luck on this game. :)