PDA

View Full Version : Lack of 3D Homebrew

1magus
January 17th, 2010, 04:25
There seems to be a trend with Dreamcast Homebrew and basically all the games I have seen are 2D which I don't have anything against, but I'm a 3D modeler and I was wondering how difficult is it to get the Dreamcast to load models with textures?

BlueCrab
January 17th, 2010, 04:36
Its not that its hard to do 3D homebrew, its more along the lines of that most coders can't do modeling/art (at least I know I can't). Doing pixel art is quite a bit easier, and heck there's plenty of libraries of Public-domain and otherwise free art that could be used in a 2D game (there's significantly less that would be usable for 3D).

Plus, in all honesty, there really haven't been any large-scale homebrew game projects in a while for the Dreamcast that weren't ports (or didn't use something like Fenix/BOR/etc. that would significantly hamper efforts to do 3D).

1magus
January 17th, 2010, 05:34
Its not that its hard to do 3D homebrew, its more along the lines of that most coder's can't do modeling/art (at least I know I can't). Doing pixel art is quite a bit easier, and heck there's plenty of libraries of Public-domain and otherwise free art that could be used in a 2D game (there's significantly less that would be usable for 3D).

Plus, in all honesty, there really haven't been any large-scale homebrew game projects in a while for the Dreamcast that weren't ports (or didn't use something like Fenix/BOR/etc. that would significantly hamper efforts to do 3D).
I'm a modeler and would be happy to team up with any developer to start a project :thumbup:

JLF65
January 17th, 2010, 06:23
The problem is that 3D games take a LOT more resources than 2D games. That makes it more desirable to devs to work on 2D instead of 3D. The extra resources require extra manpower, and homebrew devs can be a bit - twitchy - about working together. :)

1magus
January 17th, 2010, 06:28