PDA

View Full Version : Recruiting

BlackAura
November 1st, 2004, 09:17
I have exams for the next couple of weeks. After that, I'm going to start working on the DC Basic interpreter I've been working on occasionally for the past several months.

Ideally, I'd like to be able to get a working version of the thing out before the end of the year. The problem is that just having the working interpreter isn't enough. I'd also need some documentation, both on the Basic dialect and the stuff that's being added to it, some tutorials on how to use the thing, some example games, some support utilities, and two different versions of the interpreter (one for the DC, and a development version for PCs), with one version hopefully being available and tested on multiple platforms (ideally, Windows, Linux, MacOS X).

That's probably a lot more than I can manage alone, especially considering all the other normal stuff I have to do, and the fact that I want to work on Genesis Plus as well. I could probably get one version of the interpreter done, but that really wouldn't be good enough. It's supposed to be fairly easy to use, and a lack of documentation or examples would kill that, as would the lack of a PC version for development (or the lack of a DC version, which would render the entire project pointless), as would the lack of tools to deal with the data files for games.

Essentially, I'm asking if anyone would be willing to give me a hand with this thing. There's a hell of a lot of work that needs to be done on it before I'd want to release it.

At this stage, what I've got is a working interpreter, with very little functionality attached to it. It can load textures, draw them to the screen with scaling and rotation applied, and draw simple untextured primitives. It works, but it would fairly tedious to actually use in a real game, the design is far too primitive and inflexible, and the implementation is just a mess.