PDA

View Full Version : DS POD Project - Developers Wanted

wraggster
September 26th, 2006, 22:57
Aesthetic posted this news/request:

I'm a visual designer with a laughable programming background.

But I'll tell you what, I do love me the rumored touch screen Ipod. But, I am tired of waiting for it to happen.

In fact, I think I can do it better than them and I've realized that the DS is the perfect platform for my experiment. So what I'm looking to do is make a touch screen IPOD like mp3 player that will be insanely interactive, eye bogglingly 3d, and capable of wifi broadcasts.

I've attached some initial previz that I put together just to get the idea out of my brain and in a more tangible form:

http://www.newthesaur.us/DS/interface1.jpg
http://www.newthesaur.us/DS/interface2.jpg

or just visit the site I've put up:
http://www.newthesaur.us/DS/

Let me elaborate more on some of the features I see this app having (mind you these are just musings and could be taken out in the long run):

3D interface - so one thing that the DS has that the IPOD doesn't is 3D capablility, so using this to enhance the interaction and visual design will be a goal.

Innovative Interaction - this will be my primary contribution. Looking at interfaces beyond the scroll wheel. Since the interface is touch screen based this allows us to have a very dynamic context based gui.

Wifi Broadcast - I dream that a user will be able to walk into a cafe and see that there are three other users playing music in the cafe. From there they can listen to what each user in the cafe is listening to (if the other user has the setting activated). The user won't be able to download music but see song titles with which they can later go to track down the song perhaps on itunes music store to purchase.